We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting property, not really great value, but quite close to centre, cheerful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Quite easy to find, off the A19 north of the city centre. A very pleasant setting within walking distance of the centre, fairly quiet, with a tree lined avenue.

We had a four poster room (505), with a very nice balcony over looking the trees at the front. It was very hot when we arrived, so it was good to sit out there, lovely in the morning for a cup of tea: although in fact there was nowhere else to sit in the room anyway, other than on the bed. The room had a good bath, but only a hand shower over it and you need to be careful with the hot/cold controls.

Wifi was intermittent in the room and could not get it most of the time on the ipad. Not good enough in this day and age. A friendly receptionist, who in the end offered to help my wife who was struggling with bags.

The main building has a couple of nice lounges and the receptionist offered to serve drinks, but there was no food on offer on the Friday night when we were there. However, a walk down the road into the city centre gives you a world of choice.

The English breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and good quality. Friendly servers.

Overall it was a very good stay, convenient for York.

Room Tip: The room we had chosen was 505 and the balcony was superb, assuming of course the weather is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and placing your review for Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

Room 505 our lovely Four Poster Room has an amazing balcony, which is just what you need on a hot summers day.

I am sorry you encountered Wi-Fi issues, this weekend we did have a couple of comments and since this weekend we have had a booster installed in our building so hopefully this will not affect our future guests.

We have two lovely lounges to enjoy your morning coffee and read your newspaper in.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our team here and our breakfast to start your busy day off.

We hope to see you back here very soon, book direct so we can issue you your direct discount on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I spent a large amount on booking.com looking for a hotel and came across marmadukes and managed to book for 2 nights. This was for a special occasion.

When we arrived we were early so we decided to go into town for some lunch to pass the time.

When we arrived back to the hotel we were taken to our room which was a four poster room 513.
The bathroom was nice, the bedroom was spacious.

When it came to sleeping our room was boiling and we had both windows open and the heating was on!!!
The bed also made noises when sitting on the bed. Which woke me up few times.

We had breakfast there which went down a treat and staff were lovely.

My only main niggle is that we ordered champagne and it ended up going to waste as no cap was provided and the dirty glasses were left on the side through the stay.

Otherwise a nice hotel, with good staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

I am pleased to read you were pleasantly surprised by our Four Poster Bedroom, which is a lovely room at the front of the hotel. It can get warm in this old building and surprised that our heating was on; we did turn all heating off in May. Your bed is an Antique Four Poster and unfortunately they are not like modern beds, we have tightened up the slats so hopefully this will improve the creaks.

I am pleased breakfast was a treat, which it certainly should be to start an exciting day in York.
This is a very good point we could buy Champagne stoppers for you to store downstairs in our fridges. I am afraid I do inform staff not to touch any items in the room in case guests worry we have thrown away. If any future guests wish, we would happily store any champagne/wine in our fridges for your return.

I do hope you do return back to us and see our constant improvements.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We checked into the hotel at 11am yesterday, went into York as room wasn't ready as we knew it wouldn't be, came back at 3pm soaking after a downpour and given tea and coffee as the room wasn't quite ready still. I had booked this weekend for my husband after a very bad year and some bad news, I had paid rather a lot of money for this treat, for one night. we stayed in the York Suite, as nothing else was available, which was lovely, I would have expected some nice touches though such as chocolates or a bottle of wine in the room or even nicely folded towels , just something to make it a bit special, I have stayed in a lot of cheaper places that do this. The wet room also had a blocked drain so it was like a paddling pool for a while. The breakfast was really nice and the staff were very friendly and couldn't fault the service. I was just a bit let down, especially after the effort of getting my husband to go away in the first place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Deb50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review for Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

It certainly was the worst weather imaginable the day you arrived. I am sorry that you felt this was a lot of money, York does command high rates and we are as competitive as possible for what is available in York at the time of your booking.

We would have happily have ordered you chocolates or wine, you can add these on hopefully when you return back with you daughter later on the year.

You did report this on your departure and our Maintenance team have looked into this, we didn’t find anything but we have placed a strong chemical to hopefully avoid this potentially happening.

I am pleased you found the staff friendly and you enjoyed your breakfast. I hope you do return back with you daughter as you suggested on your departure to enjoy York to its full potential.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband, son and I spent 1 night here. My son had a small single which, while not spacious, was perfectly adequate. Our room was lovely, large and furnished with antiques. The bathroom was fine but our personal preference would have been to have a shower rather than a bath.

There are also very pretty sitting rooms and a garden for guests to use.

The breakfast was great but the main attraction for this hotel were the staff, who were incredibly helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible, explaining how to get to places, ordering cabs, storing our luggage.

I would therefore highly recommend staying at Marmadukes, particularly as it is only a 5 minute walk to the Minster.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and placing your Five Star review.

Your comment about our Team here is just lovely ‘main attraction’; smiles can be found all round at Marmadukes Town House Hotel. We will do all we can to help our guests, please ask and we will certainly try and find out as much information as possible.

Thank you for highly recommending us, we will look forward to you returning back to us.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and i stayed in Marmadukes last weekend as we were attending York races. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, the room was lovely, the staff were friendly & the breakfast was very enjoyable. We will stay here again when we visit York.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rvent198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for a Fantastic review.

Short, sweet and to the point. We do have a lovely hotel here where we try and make everybody as comfortable as possible. Thank you for your kind comments about our team here & our breakfast.

We will look forward to you returning back to us for the next York races.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Me and partner just stayed in the loft suite for a night - wish we were there for longer. Lovely interior throughout the hotel, very friendly staff, delicious breakfast and a great location. Couldn't have asked for anything more from our stay. Would highly recommend and will definitely be staying again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank stewart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for an amazing Five Star review.

I am pleased to read that our Loft Suite made expectations and that you loved the interior of this bedroom. Thank you for a lovely staff mention, I am sure this will cheer our team up.

We will look forward to you returning back to us and recommending us would be the icing on the cake for us.

Very Best Wishes

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed at this gem of a hotel for a couple of nights to celebrate our wedding Anniversary.
Amazing staff, a lovely, clean room and delicious breakfast.
A short walk into the centre of York so we did not use our car for the whole stay.
Highly recommend this friendly hotel and we will return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SarahForward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and placing a review on for Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

I am thrilled to read you choose here to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary, thank you also for your kind comments regarding our service and amazing staff.

We hope to see you back here before your next anniversary and a huge thank you for recommending us to your Friends & Family.

Kindest Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,551 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#6 of 47 in York
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £75 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing