We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm reception interesting surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Marmadukes and have had a lovely time. The rooms were interesting and spotless. Yes there were heavy drapes but no dust and I should know with my allergies. There was something interesting to look at wherever we were. The rooms were all different and the Loft Suite was something else with its own sauna etc
The staff were friendly and helpful. Free WiFi and free 24 hr room service, even breakfast cooked and wrapped to go if in a hurry.
Drinks were reasonably priced, and even after storing my luggage for most of the day offered welcome coffees free of charge.
I would return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesnste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,523 - 1,529 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

A trip to York for 3 nights. Approx a 20 minute walk brings you to York Minster and from there whatever takes your fancy. The rooms were clean, comfortable and far from the staple modern hotel type, lots of character. The staff were friendly and professional and the breakfast excellent, cooked as you preferred. Would I return, definitely. With the right weather the outdoor sauna and hotub, in the garden, would be of value. Room service is free and with York traffic free car parking is a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

this hotel is a breath of fresh air! So individual and friendly. The room was lovely. Four poster bed and a balcony. It was absolute heaven! The staff made you feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. If you are thinking about goin g to york, then consider this hotel. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppadew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed for two nights Friday until Sunday.The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout, the staff were very friendly friendly and approachable. We hadn't booked an executive room, but were given one in a free upgrade.
The four poster bed was so comfy, and the room was fantastic with a balcony. |the breakfast was lovely and piping hot.
I have read that this place had problems in the past (2007) but it is safeto say that these are well and truly behind it.
We will definately stay again on our next visit to York.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed for two nights,found the hotel spotlessly clean,staff friendly and approachable, stayed in rm 509 well worth the walk up three flights of stairs for! had breakfast in bed on the first morning we didnt ask reception the lady on the desk asked us when we first checked in,worth every penny would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyblueManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I was looking for somewhere to stay that provided a more boutique experience given York is a such a beautiful town. After a lot of research Marmadukes took my eye and it was worth every penny and more! The new management team are friendly, professional and have the place running like a dream. I spoke with them and the previous bad reports were as a result of previous owners who bankrupted the place. Now it is in professional hands and a pleasure to stay there. They advised they might reopen the restaurant for dinners (breakfasts are great) which would make it even better as no need to leave on chilly nights!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean, friendly excellent staff, gorgeous breakfast. Only negative was that we didn't have a shower in our room, however we did have a freestanding bath which made up for it!

Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WF8TYKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,457 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £65 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing