We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOTEL AND STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
158 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOTEL AND STAFF”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed here overnight the start of June and we could find no fault, with the hotel it was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markdunlaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    444
    170
    78
    34
See reviews for
116
1,070
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

good location close but not too close to centre - attentive staff and good breakfast available to 10am which is great for a sunday lie in - very comfy bed and no noise from other rooms (my personal pet hate) - excellent and very large ensuite with stand alone bath - plenty of parking which is always a bonus - would definitely be my choice when staying in York

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Arrived last Monday 24th with my husband for a 4 night stay. We were early to book in as we were coming on an early flight from Belfast. Our room was ready and were given room 515. It was as it appeared on website, lovely large room and bathroom and a very comfy bed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us.
Breakfasts were all fab. The first morning i took kippers and my husband had the full Yorkshire, both were great. Varied the breakfasts, i had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon which was so tasty and my husband tried the boiled eggs and soldiers which he thought were excellent.
No ironing board in the room but was able to borrow 1 immediately. There were 2 bottles of still and spring water left in our rooms each morning.
Lovely bar area downstairs with a most beautiful sitting area.
Marmadukes only do evening meals at weekends but we were able to sample the chef's food at the sister establishment , The Guy Fawkes. Ate there for 2 of the nights and the food was fab.
We intend to visit York again at some stage and will be booking Marmadukes.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

While web searching Marmadukes postal code the day before we set off we read that the Hotel had gone into administration and were anxious about our stay but decided to take our chances and set off for our weekend in York.
Upon arrival we found a parking spot in the grounds without any problem and were given the key to our room which was on the first floor at the front of the hotel with a balcony which was a bonus as the weather was gorgeous.
Room 505 was of average size, decorated with antique looking furniture and a big four poster bed which was so comfortable and bouncy it almost begged you to jump on it.
I had read some reviews about the bathroom not being very clean but ours was fine and the free standing bath was lovely with very fast running and always hot water.
Breakfast was served between 8-10am both mornings we were seated straight away even though the hotel was running at full capacity and brought coffee and toast within a few minutes before we had our choice from the menu which I recomend the Egg and Soiders as they were fab.
We didnt eat in the evening at the hotel but did have drinks at the bar some of which were happily served by the night reception staff at around 1am.
Were not the kind of people who want to hang around our hotel all day so cant really comment on some aspects like the size or positioning of a tv set but what i can say is that the staff seem pleasant hardworking people who run a sweet little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyandMallory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We stayed at Marmadukes Hotel in February after being unable to get into the Lamb and Lion(its sister hotel) and we weren't disappointed...

It is lovely...with fab service and nice clean boutique style rooms. Car parking is available and breakfast was great with staff even offering to take some food to my room.

It took us around 10 minutes (walking) to get into the centre of York, which wasn't a problem, and cost about £2-£3 in a taxi home.

If there was only one bad point-there wasn't much of a view in our hotel room, but the room itself, made up for it.
I would definately stay here again, no doubt! (looks like the lamb and lion have closed down-we were definately relieved to find maramadukes was still open for business!)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
229 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed here for one night over Valentines weekend. Lovely hotel the room are very classical old victorian rooms which compliments the building itself. The bed was so comfortable and the bedding was lovely. The bathroom was lovely with a huge bath. The only downside to the stay was the breakfast staff were very slow and served everybody who entered the room after us before us which otherwise would have been a lovely staff. The breakfast was good though just unfortunate that the staff were too slow and inexperienced.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We have stayed in this Hotel on 2 occasions now and without doubt whenever we go and stay in York, this will be our Hotel of choice. Although it is about 1/2 a mileout of the city, it is a very pleasant walk, even in winter when we went previously and adds to the character of staying in York. The Hotel itself has a traditional feel to it and although the rooms are relatively small, they are full of charm. There is also a lovely bar/lounge area which is very relaxing and comfortable for a late night or drink at any time. High quality and in 'Best small Hotel's in the world chain'

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_cadmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing