We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff really helped make it extra special for us!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We have just returned from a stay at the marmadukes hotel and I felt that I had to write and thank the staff for a superb stay!

We were a group of 15 visiting York Races for a Hen Party. We had planned meal and a couple of games with the hen (mr and mrs etc) and the young girls who came on shift on the Friday evening (Jody et al) really went out of their way to support myself and the other organiser in making it perfect for the Bride to Be!

we had 8 rooms ranging from delux doubles, petit doubles and a single and all rooms were fantastic...would be perfect for a romantic break! im not sure that the hotel would want to promote itself as a hotel which see's a lot of group bookings as i would describe its style as quiet victorian with a lot of charm but it was ideal for what we wanted. it has a lounge area and a bar plus a conservatory restaurant!

The evening meal was lovely and for £20 for 3 courses you cant go wrong! as for the breakfast...all i can say is YUM YUM!!! the full yorkshire is excellent!!

I would definately recommend this hotel to people visitng York and I will be using it again for my next trip!

Again, I would like to extend my sincerest gratitude to all the staff who helped make this weekend perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hevberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,471 - 1,477 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

Service was impeccable, the breakfasts to die for and the rooms in which the family stayed in were all unique and beautifal. A very cosy relaxed and sophisticated hotel. Thanks for making our weekend so very enjoyable

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifford_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Great location and easy access to main centre. The rooms were fab and breakfast was delicious. Would certainly receommend and will stay there each time I visit York. Well Done!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vetland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed here overnight the start of June and we could find no fault, with the hotel it was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdunlaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

good location close but not too close to centre - attentive staff and good breakfast available to 10am which is great for a sunday lie in - very comfy bed and no noise from other rooms (my personal pet hate) - excellent and very large ensuite with stand alone bath - plenty of parking which is always a bonus - would definitely be my choice when staying in York

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smudge30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Arrived last Monday 24th with my husband for a 4 night stay. We were early to book in as we were coming on an early flight from Belfast. Our room was ready and were given room 515. It was as it appeared on website, lovely large room and bathroom and a very comfy bed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us.
Breakfasts were all fab. The first morning i took kippers and my husband had the full Yorkshire, both were great. Varied the breakfasts, i had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon which was so tasty and my husband tried the boiled eggs and soldiers which he thought were excellent.
No ironing board in the room but was able to borrow 1 immediately. There were 2 bottles of still and spring water left in our rooms each morning.
Lovely bar area downstairs with a most beautiful sitting area.
Marmadukes only do evening meals at weekends but we were able to sample the chef's food at the sister establishment , The Guy Fawkes. Ate there for 2 of the nights and the food was fab.
We intend to visit York again at some stage and will be booking Marmadukes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

While web searching Marmadukes postal code the day before we set off we read that the Hotel had gone into administration and were anxious about our stay but decided to take our chances and set off for our weekend in York.
Upon arrival we found a parking spot in the grounds without any problem and were given the key to our room which was on the first floor at the front of the hotel with a balcony which was a bonus as the weather was gorgeous.
Room 505 was of average size, decorated with antique looking furniture and a big four poster bed which was so comfortable and bouncy it almost begged you to jump on it.
I had read some reviews about the bathroom not being very clean but ours was fine and the free standing bath was lovely with very fast running and always hot water.
Breakfast was served between 8-10am both mornings we were seated straight away even though the hotel was running at full capacity and brought coffee and toast within a few minutes before we had our choice from the menu which I recomend the Egg and Soiders as they were fab.
We didnt eat in the evening at the hotel but did have drinks at the bar some of which were happily served by the night reception staff at around 1am.
Were not the kind of people who want to hang around our hotel all day so cant really comment on some aspects like the size or positioning of a tv set but what i can say is that the staff seem pleasant hardworking people who run a sweet little hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeyandMallory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 47 in York
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £81 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing