We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
299
120
24
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
120
24
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centrefull englishfree parkingfamily roomroom was cleanlovely breakfastriverside walkstayed for nightscooked breakfastfront of the houseminute walkleave the carlovely guesthousereal bonusroad noisegreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were on the top floor of this friendly B+B near the centre of York. (not much of a walk to any attraction).
Breakfast was very good, any item not wanted on day 1 was remembered for day 2
The room was very clean
Good climb for the top floor (not a bad thing if you want to walk off a meal)
Parking was ok as passes were given for permitted areas
The owner was very helpful and went out of his way to help with anything
Will come back here, and recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet from road noise, NO lift, so its a climb up 3 flights.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks you for you kind comments , We are a small Victorian guest house ( not a hotel) and do not have a lift--I am sorry , also just to clarify we have rooms on the ground, 1st and 2nd floor , with just 2 flights not 3 flights of stairs, We are pleased you enjoyed our large home cooked breakfast and our guarranteed free car parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The guesthouse was a bit tired but it was clean and comfortable. There was ample off street parking and it is within walking distance of the city center. There is a pub and several take aways nearby. If you are looking for something cheap and cheerful, then this is for you. The breakfast menu was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirklees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

great place to stay and see york and a nice little pub across the road serving good food, phil,s a top guy, thks mate for all your help and the phone call after we had left telling me i had left my power cable behind. i was very happy with my stay and would book again at phil,s place if in york.top b/fast and sleep.
john.c

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Thanks you a very nice review of your recent stay with us, we do appreciate this and hope to meet you again if you stay in York -- take care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had wanted to find somewhere reasonably priced and close to York centre and that is what we got. Phil was helpful from the start. He welcomed us, gave us the information we needed and helped us to the room. The room was perfect. Small, cosy and although we were facing the main road, quiet at night. Once you shut the window you do not hear the traffic, plus everything seemingly stops at 11pm in York. The en suite was nice, shower was always hot. The bed was comfortable. We were only a few minutes away from York, which was perfect. The breakfast in the morning was lovely. The service was quick and all you had to do was ask if you wanted more juice or tea. Parking was included, the rooms were clean and the staff made sure your room was clean for when you get back. We are intending to go back to York again and certainly will remember Phil's B&B as we would recommend and stay again. When we booked, we did it through another website and booked the only room available, which was a family room. Phil called us soon after and offered us a smaller room at the same price. I am sure if we had any issues, Phil would have sorted it out for us with no complaints. A lovely, peaceful, happy little B&B that I will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara-Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for an excellent review, we are pleased you appreciated our great location, with a short walk into York along the river side. Our guaranteed free parking while you stay with us in our car park and our home cooked breakfasts are things you did appreciate and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I had such a relaxing time with my girlfriend here, I would definitely recommend this B&B to other gay couples looking for somewhere close to town as we had such a warm welcome. Staff were lovely and the breakfast was great.The rooms are very comfortable and have everything you need plus it's just a 10-15 minute stroll into the centre on York along the river. We will definitely be staying again when we come back to York! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks Naomi for a very nice review with some lovely comments, we really appreciate this and hope you will stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews