We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room in a box”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Friars Rest Guest House
Ranked #29 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Room in a box”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The rooms here was tiny with a double bed that that wasn't great. We were at the top of 2 flights of stairs, room 5 (I think). I ended up having to put my suitcase back into the car as there was just no room to move in the room (although the owner did offer to store it downstairs.
On the positive, there is off street parking provided. The breakfast wasn't bad with a full English breakfast on offer if you want it, as well as cereals. The hosts are lovely and friendly but personally, I wouldn't stay here again, only because of the size of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misterchester12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thankyou for your review although we were disappointed with the comment “room in a box” which does seem quite harsh, & the rest of the review is good. The room you did stay in is one of our smaller rooms and is priced slightly cheaper. Many people like this room as it is very quiet facing the back of the house. The issue with suitcase is difficult to understand as the bed has a metal framed bed and you can easily put at least 3 suitcases under it if necessary, but when I mentioned this to you, you said you had not noticed this which was strange, and you put your suitcase back in the car.
I have now rearranged the room to provide another area for 2 more suitcases. I think the price paid was £ 51.33 which is very reasonable for a double ensuite incl a full breakfast and free car parking in York in mid summer, and we are only a small 3 star guest providing good value clean accommodation .We do try hard to please our many and varied customers, and can only apologise if we did not meet your expectations, Regards Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    116
    22
    7
    0
See reviews for
77
248
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We found the Friar's Rest suitable for a three day visit to York with the children. The family room on the ground floor was comfortable and the ensuite shower was easy to use. We enjoyed the breakfast and the location suited us well as the walk along the river into town was lovely. The owners were friendly and helpful with advice about places to go and how to get there. We look forward to returning to York and would stay at the Friar's Rest again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
A very nice review, Thankyou for taking the time to do this , we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Family 4 room and the pleasant walk by the river into York centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were on the top floor of this friendly B+B near the centre of York. (not much of a walk to any attraction).
Breakfast was very good, any item not wanted on day 1 was remembered for day 2
The room was very clean
Good climb for the top floor (not a bad thing if you want to walk off a meal)
Parking was ok as passes were given for permitted areas
The owner was very helpful and went out of his way to help with anything
Will come back here, and recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet from road noise, NO lift, so its a climb up 3 flights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thanks you for you kind comments , We are a small Victorian guest house ( not a hotel) and do not have a lift--I am sorry , also just to clarify we have rooms on the ground, 1st and 2nd floor , with just 2 flights not 3 flights of stairs, We are pleased you enjoyed our large home cooked breakfast and our guarranteed free car parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The guesthouse was a bit tired but it was clean and comfortable. There was ample off street parking and it is within walking distance of the city center. There is a pub and several take aways nearby. If you are looking for something cheap and cheerful, then this is for you. The breakfast menu was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirklees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

great place to stay and see york and a nice little pub across the road serving good food, phil,s a top guy, thks mate for all your help and the phone call after we had left telling me i had left my power cable behind. i was very happy with my stay and would book again at phil,s place if in york.top b/fast and sleep.
john.c

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2015
Thanks you a very nice review of your recent stay with us, we do appreciate this and hope to meet you again if you stay in York -- take care Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had wanted to find somewhere reasonably priced and close to York centre and that is what we got. Phil was helpful from the start. He welcomed us, gave us the information we needed and helped us to the room. The room was perfect. Small, cosy and although we were facing the main road, quiet at night. Once you shut the window you do not hear the traffic, plus everything seemingly stops at 11pm in York. The en suite was nice, shower was always hot. The bed was comfortable. We were only a few minutes away from York, which was perfect. The breakfast in the morning was lovely. The service was quick and all you had to do was ask if you wanted more juice or tea. Parking was included, the rooms were clean and the staff made sure your room was clean for when you get back. We are intending to go back to York again and certainly will remember Phil's B&B as we would recommend and stay again. When we booked, we did it through another website and booked the only room available, which was a family room. Phil called us soon after and offered us a smaller room at the same price. I am sure if we had any issues, Phil would have sorted it out for us with no complaints. A lovely, peaceful, happy little B&B that I will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara-Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for an excellent review, we are pleased you appreciated our great location, with a short walk into York along the river side. Our guaranteed free parking while you stay with us in our car park and our home cooked breakfasts are things you did appreciate and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I had such a relaxing time with my girlfriend here, I would definitely recommend this B&B to other gay couples looking for somewhere close to town as we had such a warm welcome. Staff were lovely and the breakfast was great.The rooms are very comfortable and have everything you need plus it's just a 10-15 minute stroll into the centre on York along the river. We will definitely be staying again when we come back to York! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thanks Naomi for a very nice review with some lovely comments, we really appreciate this and hope you will stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.0 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 192 in York
494 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#40 of 192 in York
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#34 of 192 in York
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Rest Guest House

Property: Friars Rest Guest House
Address: 81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to stay at Friars Rest Guest House. We are a family run B&B situated just out of York City Centre which is approximately a 10 minute walk away. We offer comfortable ensuite rooms, well equipped and furnished, all at an affordable price. Your booking includes a freshly cooked full English breakfast (vegetarian options also available)& Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Friars Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Rest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing