We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
299
120
24
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
120
24
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centrefull englishfree parkingfamily roomroom was cleanlovely breakfastriverside walkstayed for nightscooked breakfastfront of the houseminute walkleave the carlovely guesthousereal bonusroad noisegreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were very lucky when we selected Friars Rest for our 2 night stop off in York. We found it to be extremely clean and had a beautiful bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast exceptionally good and served at a time requested by us. The Host also was very helpful and nothing seemed to put him off. We were given a parking space for our car which is a blessing in York.
If we had to give it marks out of 10, it would have to be 11

Room Tip: Not sure actually how to advise. All I can say we were very lucky
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 805Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thanks Les, we really enjoyed your company whilst you stayed with us and appreciate you giving us 11 out of 10. !.. You were in one of our recently refurbished room with a large shower and we do try to help you in any way we can to make your stay enjoyable--Thanks Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our room was on the top floor, facing the busy Fulford Road. Room and the bathroom especially were small. It was hot. Windows could be opened, but the saving factor was a large floor fan provided to move the air. Traffic noise was very prominent, even with ear plugs and even through the night. Hair drier was provided. Breakfast was good. Parking was on the busy street although off-street parking was mentioned on the website if I remember correctly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face Fulford Road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank Delbert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have just returned from a fabulous weekend in York, staying at this lovely B&B. Everything was exceptionally clean, the bedrooms were spacious and well equipped - very comfortable beds! Although the weather has been exceptionally warm we were able to open all windows and a very efficient fan was provided in each room. Breakfast was delicious, and plenty of choice and flexibility for children. A real bonus is the off-road car park, which allows you the freedom of walking into town along a very pleasant riverside walk, without having to worry about cars and car parking/fees. We were even allowed to leave the car after checking out for a couple of hours, which was very helpful. Well done to Phil and his staff, a very lovely place to stay in York.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A very pretty B&B, which was easy to find and we were able to park just outside. Stayed for 2 nights in a family room for 3. Room was at the bright and fresh, I was impressed there was 3 of everything cups etc and there were lots if sockets - great for all your charging needs. Great sized TV for a B&B room which impressed my husband and son.

The owner Phil was very friendly and helpful. He must have longer legs than us - 18 mins to the race course is a bit ambitious for most, but it was a lovely walk along the river.

The walk into York is only short and there is lots to see and do.

The beds were comfortable and we all slept very well. Breakfast was lovely a selection of cereal and juice, followed by a full cooked breakfast.

Great B&B, good location for race course and city sights. Will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jiddyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Perfect for us as we were trading just down the road at The York Racecourse for festival of Vintage. Verny accommodating with our early starts for breakfast, parking and even an unplanned extra night.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the rooms at the top 6 and 7 both fab
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thanks Philippa H for a very nice review of my Guest House ,we do try to be flexible , and make your stay very enjoyable , take care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews