We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but a very small room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Friars Rest Guest House
Ranked #33 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value but a very small room!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Friars Rest is good value and a functional B+B. It was very easy to deal with our host who was efficient and friendly. The allocated off-road parking space is a real advantage. Breakfast was standard fare and well presented. Our front facing room was clean but very small with a tiny bathroom and a shower that was difficult to turn round in. The road traffic was very noisy when the window was open. On those hot August nights it was very difficult to sleep with it closed and too noisy when open. Friars rest is a 20 minute walk from all the sights of York and is therefore a good base for such a visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisheens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review and we appreciate you enjoyed a value for money stay . The weather was unusually hot for a week or so , which is not in our control, so we are sorry you were so hot , We do provide 2 fans in most of the rooms , and you did book out smaller cheaper room, which includes free car parking .
It you had mentioned to us there was a problem we may have been able to move you but nothing was said at the time, so we though all was ok. I also ask everyone personally on check out if everything was ok, but I don’t believe anything was said.
We do try to please and look after all our customers which can be seen in most of the reviews, we cannot help the weather though, but on a lighter side you did enjoy the breakfast, car parking and our great location, take care Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    116
    22
    7
    0
See reviews for
77
247
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The host phil is very friendly and Marion makes a great cooked breakfast. Very helpful in giving us girls a choice of places to shop, eat and drink. We would defiantly stay here again. Might even bring the hubby with me next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TammyLydiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi TammyLydiate, a fantastic review which has put a smile on all our faces, I have passed your comments to my team, a big Thank You from us all and hope to see you again. Take care Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were very lucky when we selected Friars Rest for our 2 night stop off in York. We found it to be extremely clean and had a beautiful bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast exceptionally good and served at a time requested by us. The Host also was very helpful and nothing seemed to put him off. We were given a parking space for our car which is a blessing in York.
If we had to give it marks out of 10, it would have to be 11

Room Tip: Not sure actually how to advise. All I can say we were very lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 805Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks Les, we really enjoyed your company whilst you stayed with us and appreciate you giving us 11 out of 10. !.. You were in one of our recently refurbished room with a large shower and we do try to help you in any way we can to make your stay enjoyable--Thanks Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our room was on the top floor, facing the busy Fulford Road. Room and the bathroom especially were small. It was hot. Windows could be opened, but the saving factor was a large floor fan provided to move the air. Traffic noise was very prominent, even with ear plugs and even through the night. Hair drier was provided. Breakfast was good. Parking was on the busy street although off-street parking was mentioned on the website if I remember correctly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face Fulford Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Delbert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have just returned from a fabulous weekend in York, staying at this lovely B&B. Everything was exceptionally clean, the bedrooms were spacious and well equipped - very comfortable beds! Although the weather has been exceptionally warm we were able to open all windows and a very efficient fan was provided in each room. Breakfast was delicious, and plenty of choice and flexibility for children. A real bonus is the off-road car park, which allows you the freedom of walking into town along a very pleasant riverside walk, without having to worry about cars and car parking/fees. We were even allowed to leave the car after checking out for a couple of hours, which was very helpful. Well done to Phil and his staff, a very lovely place to stay in York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A very pretty B&B, which was easy to find and we were able to park just outside. Stayed for 2 nights in a family room for 3. Room was at the bright and fresh, I was impressed there was 3 of everything cups etc and there were lots if sockets - great for all your charging needs. Great sized TV for a B&B room which impressed my husband and son.

The owner Phil was very friendly and helpful. He must have longer legs than us - 18 mins to the race course is a bit ambitious for most, but it was a lovely walk along the river.

The walk into York is only short and there is lots to see and do.

The beds were comfortable and we all slept very well. Breakfast was lovely a selection of cereal and juice, followed by a full cooked breakfast.

Great B&B, good location for race course and city sights. Will stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiddyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Perfect for us as we were trading just down the road at The York Racecourse for festival of Vintage. Verny accommodating with our early starts for breakfast, parking and even an unplanned extra night.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the rooms at the top 6 and 7 both fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks Philippa H for a very nice review of my Guest House ,we do try to be flexible , and make your stay very enjoyable , take care Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.0 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 192 in York
495 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#31 of 192 in York
405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
1,368 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 192 in York
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Rest Guest House

Property: Friars Rest Guest House
Address: 81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to stay at Friars Rest Guest House. We are a family run B&B situated just out of York City Centre which is approximately a 10 minute walk away. We offer comfortable ensuite rooms, well equipped and furnished, all at an affordable price. Your booking includes a freshly cooked full English breakfast (vegetarian options also available)& Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Friars Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Rest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing