We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous place to stay”
Review of Holme Lea Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holme Lea Manor
Ranked #120 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel to stay in. Our room was perfect, 4 poster bed and was immaculately clean. breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. 10 minute walk into town. Will definately come back and stay. There is nothing not to like about this hotel......

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank arsenaldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    77
    48
    20
    12
See reviews for
34
157
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

First impression very nice but after further inspection of our room we soon changed our minds. I went to have a bath and the bath was full of marks from the nail varnish of peoples toes. when emptying the bath the sink bubbled up from the plug hole with dirty stagnant water, the smell was terrible. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were incredibly hard and the pillow cases were the wrong size. The toilet seat was loose as was the outlet to the water into the bath. The table in the bathroom was also balanced with expanding foam. All though the dinning room was very clean and the staff were very pleasant the food wasn't up to the standard I would of expected. We paid £130 for a one night stay and it was definitely not worth this amount of money. Would not go back again.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have stopped here before and were not disappointed, hence the return. Ideally situated for all shopping museums, etc when visiting York. Stay here and you will not be disappointed! Lesley, the manager is particularly helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meboDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked this for my son's Graduation at York Minster and the location was excellent.
Holme Lea Manor does not feel like a B&B, it feels like a luxury quaint Hotel. Lesley the manager was waiting to greet us with a very warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and when we were shown to our rooms (3 in total) we were not disappointed. All were four posters and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was cooked to order and served in a lovely dining room. I would definitely stay again and thanks to all the friendly staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms we stayed in were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megane62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, Worcs.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We booked on the internet literally a couple of hours before travelling up to York for a short break. We've visited York on 3 other occasions and stayed in alterative accommodation but none were anywhere near as good as Holme Lea. A very warm welcome, friendly staff and a great location. The room wasn't massive but was a good size and very comfortable. Tasteful décor throughout. Breakfast was spot on too. We got a great deal for two nights and wouldn't hesitate to revisit. It beggars belief to me that as I write this review this place only rates as 98 out of 204 in York. Why?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_and_Deb_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Fantastic location we parked our car and were only a five minute walk to york The hotel was lovely the service was excellent lesley was so helpful . Our breakfast was cooked to your liking and had a great choice will definetely go back .Its what i would call say a bit shabby chique the bed was so comfy with lovely bedding .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gold90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A great location for sight seeing, bars and restaurants which are only minutes away. We booked the hotel last minute at what appeared to be a bargain price. We were not disappointed the hotel is situated in a tree lined street. We were welcomed by pleasant and friendly staff, although we had to find our own room. The room was spacious with its own seating area.The overall look of the room was pleasant but the time has come for a little care and attention to be shown for what could be a fantastic setting and a beautiful house. Breakfast was very tasty and well presented by very friendly staff. The breakfast room is cosy and great conversation was had with other guests. Certainly a place to try.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c88pers8n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holme Lea Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holme Lea Manor

Property: Holme Lea Manor
Address: 18 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Holme Lea Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holme Lea Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holme Lea Manor Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing