We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room reservations?”
Review of Holme Lea Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holme Lea Manor
Ranked #128 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Booked this hotel months ago with the boutique room with roll top bath for my pregnant wife to enjoy only to turn up and shown to a cold top floor family room which I wouldn't stay with my family in!
An apology from the receptionist and my pregnant wife offered a bottle of wine for an apology! Laughable customer service! Fortunately the close by Hotel Du Vin had a room available and on hearing how we'd been treated upgraded us to a superior room with roll top bath! Now that's customer service!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Myself, my sister and partner stayed here over christmas and we bought the christmas package, It sounded nice and covered our meals so we thought why not, however, what we got, for what we paid, well and truly exceeded our expectations.

Firstly our room was beautiful, clean, comfortable had all the usual features expected in a room and we were told if we wanted anything else just to ask. As it was christmas we were also greeted with a chocolate box and a christmas card from the hotel which we appreciated very much.

Second point was the food. The food was delicious, I felt as if i was having 5 star dining, the staff were organised and did not make you wait on your food, it was all perfectly timed and was very delicious.

Third point and most important point was the staff. Through out our stay the staff were there constantly ensuring we were satisfied, they kept us entertained, they had us laughing and joining in on christmas quizzes and raffles and a show, just constantly including everyone to make there christmas feel special, which it truly was. I personally have never experienced such excellent service from a hotel before and I travel every year.

I'm so glad we decided to stay here and i would strongly recommend this excellent christmas package at Holme lea manor to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntyhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Used Holme Lea for our wedding night / weekend and had an absolutely lovely time. Very nicely decorated without being pretentious, loved the bath on front of the telly. Breakfasts were great and all the staff were very warm and welcoming. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zanpaktou20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This small hotel is only 10 mins walk to the centre. Large room (No 7) and a very comfortable king size bed. Good breakfast though not a lot of choice. This hotel has its own free parking which is difficult to find in York. The room was very quiet and overall it was a very comfortable experience

Room Tip: No 7 very comfortable with king sized bed but on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

So,me and my partner booked the honeymoon suite on the 23/08/2013 to celebrate our anniversary. Was quoted £100.00, so we booked it in good faith and were so much looking forward to it. My girlfriend then received e-mail stating that they had "double booked". Yeah right! More like they realised they could charge double that with it being NYE. In the e-mail and further telephone calls,there was no "sorry" or trying to help us with alternative accommodation,just a proverbial shrug-of-the-shoulders. Despicable!!!!!! I hope that you overcharging for one night, and gazzumping us in the sly way yous did, comes back n bites you on the behind and yous go bust. Karma n all that!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel to stay in. Our room was perfect, 4 poster bed and was immaculately clean. breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. 10 minute walk into town. Will definately come back and stay. There is nothing not to like about this hotel......

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank arsenaldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

First impression very nice but after further inspection of our room we soon changed our minds. I went to have a bath and the bath was full of marks from the nail varnish of peoples toes. when emptying the bath the sink bubbled up from the plug hole with dirty stagnant water, the smell was terrible. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were incredibly hard and the pillow cases were the wrong size. The toilet seat was loose as was the outlet to the water into the bath. The table in the bathroom was also balanced with expanding foam. All though the dinning room was very clean and the staff were very pleasant the food wasn't up to the standard I would of expected. We paid £130 for a one night stay and it was definitely not worth this amount of money. Would not go back again.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
0.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Guest House
0.2 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.2 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#14 of 194 in York
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holme Lea Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holme Lea Manor

Address: 18 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Holme Lea Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holme Lea Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holme Lea Manor Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing