We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holme Lea Manor
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in York
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
B+B York(York)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jorvik House(York)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
115
77
48
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
77
48
20
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is the fifth time we have stayed at the Holme Lea Manor over the last 4 years. The service, location and facilities mean that this is our first choice of accommodation when visiting York.

The little extra details, such as offering an ice bucket and glasses during our stay really make the difference.

Thank you again to all for making our time in York special.

Room Tip: Look on the website as the rooms all offer different facilities.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Beautiful character building, friendly staff however not sure it warrants its 4 star rating at present, we stayed in room 10- honeymoon suite, very spacious and lovely bath and shower, there were some points that let it down though, the carpet is grubby and stained in places, there is a light fitting hanging down and not all bulbs worked, there wasn't any bottled water and although it said to ask for a bottle of tap water in the brochure when we did ask the lady appeared puzzled and gave us a glass of water. The bathroom sink is pointless, its so tiny its unusable. The room is also on the ground floor and so next to the breakfast room and very noisy in the morning, I have just noticed helen C's comments and the faults she points out have not been rectified- such a shame.

Room Tip: Check your room is not on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just like to say a BIG Thankyou to Jane mainly who served us our breakfast everyday whilst we were staying at Holme lea manor guest house. The room was lovely and spacious, the bed was comfortable and the room was lovely and clean and warm.

Also to the rest of the staff who work really hard refreshing our room daily.
Lovely place, staff cant do enough for you. A ten minute walk to the city and everything you need is there.
would defo recommend a visit to this guest house if your coming to York.

Thankyou once again for making our holiday very homely and warm.
keep up the good work.

Geraldine and Martin

Room Tip: Four poster bed upstairs was really lovely room apart from toilet seat that was lose.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We have visited York for the first time and have stayed in this excellent hotel for the past 3 nights
The hotel is very near the centre allowing to leave the car and walk into and around York
The room was very comfortable and warm and quiet
Breakfast was excellent and my wife who is vegetarian could have a vegetarian version of a "Full Yorshire Breakfast" that kept us going until the evening meal
The staff are very polite and helpful we will definitely stay again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank davemuttram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

While this is a lovely Victorian house in a great location - we did end up feeling like we had stepped into an episode of the Hotel Inspector! We booked the the four poster bed room at this guest house, as a Christmas treat but were VERY disappointed. The room is on the ground floor next to the kitchen, so we were woken by the staff every morning, as they prepared for breakfast. But this was the least of this rooms problems, which started when we arrived. On arrival, the reception bell wasn't working and after 10 mins of standing there waiting to be greeted, we had to ring them on our phone. We had previously rung in the afternoon to say that we would be arriving around 7pm but still there was no one there to meet us.
Once in the room, we could immediately see that there were problems - a number of the lights not working as the bulbs had blown and one of the ceiling lights was hanging out of the ceiling it self. Nor were any of the lights working in the car park either.

The bathroom was tiny with a meager sink, that you couldn't even wash your face in without getting water everywhere, or shave. There was paper peeling off the walls and the tooth mug holder was hanging off the wall. The toilet paper was thin cheap 2 ply and there were only plastic cups for glasses. Though there was a lovely double end bath in the room and the shower cubicle was nice - but there was black mold in one of the corners.

In the morning having suffered all night with a mattress that should have been replaced long ago - we had to ask the staff on Christmas morning to flip and rotate the mattress and add a duvet on top to make it bearable.

Then on Christmas morning - despite having paid the full rate for the nights stay there was a reduced breakfast selection, with no hot options. Which is absolutely understandable but at no time during the booking process were we made aware of this and they still charged the same amount as the other nights, when there was a full hot breakfast option.

Also in the morning we then discovered the other delights of this room - mold growing on all of the net curtains, one of the blinds was broken (so we couldn't roll it up), there were stains on the bed cushions and there was also some kind of black stain on the ceiling too, and there had been a bad paint job done with just having painted some new patches of one of the walls.

Overall this room was not worth the money charged and while we mentioned all these problems when we paid, the staff just shrugged and said that they would make a note of it. No offer of any refund or apology.

We will not be recommending this guest house to anyone, especially as we then discovered that they call this room their honeymoon suite.

Room Tip: Room 10 (aka the Honeymoon suite)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews