We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Holme Lea Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holme Lea Manor
Ranked #127 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stay in many bed and breakfast this hotel was warm and welcoming , the room no. 3 was perfect in every way great comfy bed. The only down size got woken up by people walking about pipes and people using there bathrooms till early hours , guess you get this in all bed and breakfast. The breakfast was brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner lost a hotel booking to them having a complete power cut in another hotel near york ,we were very lucky to find the last room in this excellent guest house on hearing our story the owner reduced the price abit also which was very kind.we did get the smallest room but the room was still very cozy and very clean our breakfast in the morning was the best ive ever had and great to have black pudding on our plates a proper english breakfast all in all a super guest/ manor house which we will definatley return to soon the owners and staff made us feel so welcome after our stressfull day

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tony5650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My Husband booked this Boutique Hotel as a treat for my 40th Birthday. The Victorian house is very impressive on arrival, and at £120 per night, it should be! However, when checking in we were told that there had been a problem with the room and some damage had been done by the previous occupants (Room 10 -Honeymoon suite). The shower head was torn from the wall and some ornaments had been smashed. On entering the room I noticed that the carpet was very grubby, and felt a bit exposed as this room looks over the car park. The staff told us they would have the issues sorted for when we returned from our trip into town. Unfortunately the room was still not up to standard. The shower had been fixed but gaffer tape was used to hold the tile in place. I decided to have a good look around the room and found Mould on all of the Voile curtains, a big brown stain on the ceiling (I notice this in another travellers photos) the toothbrush holder hanging off the wall and the heating not working in the bathroom. The sparkling lights not all working, and a honeymoon suite on the bottom floor? How odd! My husband complained about this and we were offered a discount and a new room in the attic (room 7). This was a much nicer room, however, just small things took the shine off this. Again mould in the bathroom. Very grubby in the corners of the shower and bath. Mould around the window frames which explained why the Velu was open when we entered. Dust and grime around the door frames, and wallpaper coming off the walls. The whole bathroom just needs a good clean with some bleach! It's just lazy housekeeping and isn't worth the £100 per night that we paid. I can honestly say that the 3 Premier Inns we have used recently were cleaner and better value for money.

On a plus note, the staff were pleasant and apologised for the inconvenience caused. The breakfast was lovely and the room well equipped with Tea, Coffee and complimentary toiletries.

The location was great, in a nice area.

Unfortunately I would not recommend this Hotel due to the poor cleanliness and grubby decor.

Please take on board the issues raised by myself and other travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is the fifth time we have stayed at the Holme Lea Manor over the last 4 years. The service, location and facilities mean that this is our first choice of accommodation when visiting York.

The little extra details, such as offering an ice bucket and glasses during our stay really make the difference.

Thank you again to all for making our time in York special.

Room Tip: Look on the website as the rooms all offer different facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Beautiful character building, friendly staff however not sure it warrants its 4 star rating at present, we stayed in room 10- honeymoon suite, very spacious and lovely bath and shower, there were some points that let it down though, the carpet is grubby and stained in places, there is a light fitting hanging down and not all bulbs worked, there wasn't any bottled water and although it said to ask for a bottle of tap water in the brochure when we did ask the lady appeared puzzled and gave us a glass of water. The bathroom sink is pointless, its so tiny its unusable. The room is also on the ground floor and so next to the breakfast room and very noisy in the morning, I have just noticed helen C's comments and the faults she points out have not been rectified- such a shame.

Room Tip: Check your room is not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just like to say a BIG Thankyou to Jane mainly who served us our breakfast everyday whilst we were staying at Holme lea manor guest house. The room was lovely and spacious, the bed was comfortable and the room was lovely and clean and warm.

Also to the rest of the staff who work really hard refreshing our room daily.
Lovely place, staff cant do enough for you. A ten minute walk to the city and everything you need is there.
would defo recommend a visit to this guest house if your coming to York.

Thankyou once again for making our holiday very homely and warm.
keep up the good work.

Geraldine and Martin

Room Tip: Four poster bed upstairs was really lovely room apart from toilet seat that was lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We have visited York for the first time and have stayed in this excellent hotel for the past 3 nights
The hotel is very near the centre allowing to leave the car and walk into and around York
The room was very comfortable and warm and quiet
Breakfast was excellent and my wife who is vegetarian could have a vegetarian version of a "Full Yorshire Breakfast" that kept us going until the evening meal
The staff are very polite and helpful we will definitely stay again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank davemuttram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
7.3 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safestay York
Safestay York
#13 of 56 in York
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holme Lea Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holme Lea Manor

Address: 18 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Holme Lea Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holme Lea Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holme Lea Manor Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing