We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand all the good reviews!”
Review of Holme Lea Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holme Lea Manor
Ranked #123 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't understand all the good reviews!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

First the good points: the location is good, on a quiet road only a 10 minute walk from the centre. The welcome from a friendly staff member on arrival, was very warm. The room was comfortable.

Now for the not so good points: not sure when the bathroom was last give a thorough clean, but I don't think it was this year. There was mould and grime and it definitely didn't give the impression of being the 'luxury' accommodation it was billed as. When using the shower, water ended up over the bathroom floor because of the poor seal on the mouldy shower screen.

On our first morning, the hotel had run out of smoked salmon and croissants. We were told that they had run out of the croissants that morning and the salmon the day before. Why didn't they go to the shops? We did, and just ten minutes away, in an express supermarket, we could find both. On the second morning, surprise, surprise, still no smoked salmon, but it was still on the menu. On both days we opted for egg instead with sausage for me and mushrooms for my husband. On the first morning he was given 3 mushrooms and on the second day it went up to 4 small ones! Luxury?

When we pointed out these issues we were given an apology but no offer of a refund. I wrote to the management on our return home and received a speedy reply, with apology and the offer of a free night in one of their nicer rooms the next time we go to York. This may seem quite generous but isn't much use as we have no intention of returning to York and are about to move abroad. I emailed back and asked if we could have a partial refund instead. I am still awaiting a reply, three weeks on. I wouldn't recommend this guest house as it's clearly a bit hit and miss

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    77
    48
    20
    12
See reviews for
34
157
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Firstly I would like to say how welcoming the staff were. Everyone we spoke to greeted us with a smile and we're really helpful. The room was spacious even with the cot that they supplied up in the room. They met all our requirements and more. The room was perfectly clean the only thing that let it down was a little mould in the bathroom tiles, would recommend this place regardless. It's a brilliant cosy place to stay with yummy breakfast and walking distance from the beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here on a whistle stop tour and found it very charming and convenient with free parking and walking distance from the centre. Free wifi available also.

Our room was right at the top and felt nice and spacious. Found the bed very comfortable and the sheets luxurious. A nice little touch was the cafetiere in the room so we could make “proper coffee”. Didn’t notice a lift so might be difficult for people who are not so mobile.

Staff were friendly and welcoming. There is no evening entertainment or bar for for a little night-cap but if you like a charming base for your visit to York then this could be it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon_ArcticFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in York for 2 nights and needed somewhere for 1 adult and 2 teenagers. The feedback on booking.com gave this little gem better ratings than many of the well known hotels AND there was free parking.
We arrived early to see the car park was full. Within minutes, the owner had let us park on her drive and the car stayed there for 2 days til we left. We even managed to stay parked after we had checked out so we could explore Yorks chocolate story.
The room was on the top floor with an interconnecting door between the double and the twin Roos - bliss as it gave a break from teenagers & I got the TV!! The bathroom was big, clean with a super shower and separate bath.
The breakfast was yummy, although seating a bit tight the second morning as it seemed most residents ate at the same time.
We were not disturbed by others as some reviews have put. The only issue we had was that the pillows were not overly comfy but that's a minor detail.
For the money we paid for 3 people for 2 nights, we got a quiet street, lovely guest house & room, breakfast included and free parking.
I would stay here again. Not sure how I would have managed being on top floor with 2 toddlers though. The only thing I'd change is bringing my own pillows.
York is fabulous and all of a 10 minute stroll away from the guest house.
Can't wait to go back and may even take the husband next time :-)

Room Tip: If you're unsure call the hotel directly as the owner is so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Spent two nights luxury bedroom never slept! Bed awful both mornings we had terrible
Back ache worse mattress ever.
2nd morning at breakfast only 1 other couple in dining room and waitress still managed
To get our order wrong
Would not recommend this hotel. £210 for two nights should have stayed at Marriott

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira6420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is on a lovely residential street with off street parking. First impressions were that the staff were very helpful and the building had lots of lovely original features. It was easy to find and a short stroll into the city which is what we did as soon as we arrived.
When we got back to our room (which wasn't ready earlier as we had arrived at lunchtime) the window was opened so we didn't notice the slight damp / sweaty trainer smell. The room was nicely decorated with a four poster bed, double shower and claw foot bathtub in the bedroom (which my partner found very odd but I liked). On closer inspection though, the tub was quite badly marked, the porcelin in the sink was damaged and the paste on the wallpaper in the bedroom had bled through the paint all the way round the room.
The room should have been gorgeous but the attention to detail just wasn't there. Perhaps my expectations were too high!
When we had showers the next morning (with the fan running) we realised the ventilation wasn't great, hence the black mould around the windows.
The room had good, heavy curtains so we had a good night's sleep apart from the noise from the room above but I guess this should be expected in an old house. The towels were changed each day (but my face cloth got swept up with their towels never to be seen again).
Breakfast was fine with a decent range of choices and the staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a four poster bed but smells a little damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sooz322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Not a bad little hotel / B and B with nicely appointed rooms. Breakfast was plentiful but not as tasty as it could be. Quite expensive but the level of decor is quite high. Easy walking distance out of walled city centre down a quiet side street.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holme Lea Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holme Lea Manor

Property: Holme Lea Manor
Address: 18 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Holme Lea Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holme Lea Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holme Lea Manor Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing