We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful, historic building right in the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lendal Tower

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Wendy W
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, historic building right in the centre of York”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Met up with old friends for our annual reunion in Lendal Tower.
We really enjoyed our stay - lots to see and do, and all within walking distance. We were warmly welcomed by Mike, and found the property very comfortable. The views from the roof terrace were outstanding; enjoyed with a glass of fizz as the sun went down.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about Lendal Tower. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that the weather was kind enough to allow you to enjoy the sunsets!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you for your annual reunion and I hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future.


Best Regards,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
666Suzi66...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Luxurious unique Tower right in the middle of York - wonderful.”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Greeted in person and showed all around - lovely touch. Unexpected luxury welcome pack left in the kitchen, with bottle of Prosecco in the fridge. A great start to a simply brilliant stay. HUGE bedrooms, beautifully furnished, it was better by miles than we even hoped for. Particularly loved the fantastic roof top terrace each evening for drinks overlooking the rooftops and river - what a place! (tip - take a shopping basket on a rope with you to get six glasses, a couple of bottles of wine, dip and crisps up there!) The garden was lovely for lunch and very private. Mezzanine bedroom has no bathroom and you have to go downstairs and across lounge to get to downstairs loo/shower. But it has screens to save embarrassment from lounge and was no problem whatsoever. Top bedroom is 39 steps up a wooden spiral staircase - we went and bought a kettle for early morning tea rather than disturb the two other floors with lots of creaking stairs but this was our choice. Lendal Tower is a superb place and I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in York. Thank you Nathan and Mark.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation and roof terrace
Liked least: size of dishwaster
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and managed to make good use of both the roof terrace and garden for lunch and drinks.

Once again thank you for the kind review, we would love to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sho37
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway ”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a girls wk end away & must say I was impressed at Lendal Tower it's spacious & lovely, the view from the roof top is amazing & there's so much to do in York it's the perfect getaway.

Date of stay: November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted to hear that you had such an excellent weekend with your friends. It is great to read that you enjoyed the Tower so much and in particular that you found the roof terrace to be fantastic.

We would be thrilled to accommodate you again in future if you are ever looking to re-visit York.


All the best,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're delighted to hear you had such a great time in York and were able to make full use of all the facilities at the Tower.
It has been our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Tower soon.

Kind Regards

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Farrierre...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“As good as it gets.”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing place to stay. Historic castle, centrally placed with perfect river views. Greater luxury than a 5 star hotel.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2015
I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to the Tower in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy B
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was a fantastic holiday my Daughter had her 16th birthday and my Husband had his 50th birthday . It was magical . We are absolutely going to book next year. The best holiday we have ever had and we have been on many.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of being in Lendal Tower .Fantastic
Liked least: There is nothing to comment on this as it was all superb !!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted to hear you had such a great stay at the Tower. I hope your daughter and husband enjoyed their birthday celebrations and we would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio725
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We chose the best place to stay in York!”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was my first time renting a Holiday Cottage verse staying at a hotel. Mike replied to my emails and questions right away. I was impressed, so I booked a 5 night stay for 4 friends. Mike and Nathan met us on arrival and gave us a complete tour of our medieval Tower. I stayed in the master bedroom with the amazing bathtub/jacuzzi. My Mom had the bedroom under me, which is probably the best room in the house. Our friend Tom stayed in the mezzanine bedroom and our 4th friend stayed in the living room and slept on the pull out sofa. We loved staying here! We were enveloped with not only the history inside of our Tower, but by the outside city as well. From our rooftop you are so close to the ruins of St Mary's Abbey. You could just picture Henry VIII's men tearing it down because of his dissolution of the monastaries. Look up hill and there is York Minster. The other side is the Roman Wall and of course River Ouse. The only negative, wifi is shotty, due to the old stone walls. My mom was able to sign on to York's free city wifi from her room. Other reviewers mentioned street noise. Yes, you will hear the geese and pub crawlers, but being a compact city, I believe no matter where you stay, you will not avoid that. Recommendations....The Perky Peacock coffee shop right across the tower on the other side of the river. We also had an amazing dinner at The Star Inn in the City right next door. The train station is just across the bridge. Everything is in walking distance. We also rented a car one day by the train station and did an easy day trip to Wakefield and visted Pontefract and Sandal Castles. This, in my opinion, is the only place to stay if you're going to visit York.

Date of stay: February 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Many thanks for your kind words regarding the Tower and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience of both the Tower and York itself. I am also especially pleased that you had such a great first experience of staying in a self-catering property.

I also appreciate your comments regarding the wifi and outside noise levels. We will look into the possibility of signal extenders to try increase the wifi coverage and as you will have noticed, we have had secondary glazing installed to top two floor bedrooms and will look to expand this to the lower floors when we can to further reduce noise levels.

Once again thank you for your fantastic review and I sincerely hope we can welcome you back to Lendal Tower in the future.


Best Regards,

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.