We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lendal Tower

Lendal Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom
Master bedroom
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath 2
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Mezzanine floor bedroom
Living room
Living Room
Spiral staircase leading up the 4 floors of the Tower
Original water meter
Solid oak dining table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Roof Terrace
Roof Terrace and Museum Gardens
The beautiful secluded garden
Lendal Tower from a distance alongside Lendal Bridge
The Tower in the snow
The Tower in the snow II
Visit England 5 Star Grading
Visit England Gold Award Winning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heidi C
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights. The building was amazing in every way! So rich in history, super clean, great location, great amenities. I just cannot say enough. Both Mike and Nathan responded immediately to us when we had a couple of questions, were extremely polite and wonderful owners. We would absolutely stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and i hope you left with many fond memories of the property and the city.
We wish you and your family all the best and hope you can come back to join us again soon.

Best Regards
Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superbuk1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect historic rental in the best location in York”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great self-catering experience. There were three adults using the property, which meant that we had plenty of space. Two of the bedrooms are enormous and the third is a good size, so even with six adults I think you'd still feel you weren't on top of each other (although the smallest bedroom is on a mezzanine over the sitting room, so whoever is staying in that room would need to be the last to bed and the first one up not to be disturbed by other people sneaking down for cups of tea).

All of the fixtures and fittings were what you would hope for from a property that bills itself as a luxury rental - the bath in the top floor bedroom being a particular highlight. I would also add that the beds were incredibly comfortable with great mattresses (which isn't always the case in my experience of "luxury" rentals).

The location is also great - it's an easy walk to the station, you can see the Minster from the roof terrace. And if you're driving in, it's simple to find with private parking.
As a treat for a special occasion it definitely has the wow factor.

All of my interactions prior to arrival with the owners were great - they were helpful and prompt in responding to my emails. I would highly recommend Lendal Tower.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review o the property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property and the comfy beds! We hope you can come back to join us again for another special occasion or to reminisce on the time spent with us this year.

Best Regards

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much were impressed by many of the Tower's features. We would love to welcome you back in the future so please do get in touch when you are next visiting York!

All the best,

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PM0211
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay whilst visiting York”
Reviewed 28 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here as part of a family group and couldn't have asked for better. The location is absolutely perfect, so central and yet with two private parking spaces which is so convenient. The property itself is stunning, so much history and character and it is clear there has been no expense spared in the furnishing. Everything looks like it has been thought about before being put in and the quality is excellent. The roof terrace is worth a special mention for being such a fantastic place to sit and watch the world go by.

Arrival was very easy thanks to the excellent communication from Nathan who also provided a very helpful personal meet and greet to help get us settled.

We will most certainly be holidaying here again the next time we stay in York, why would you want to stay anywhere else?!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the property and the furnishings. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and we looking forward to welcoming back on your return (hopefully).

Best Regards
Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very different!”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a couple of nights with our family, 3 couples and a two year old. It was easy to find but difficult to negotiate the left hand turn in a large 4x4 down the tight drive. The garage was hugh though. Externally and internally the history is very evident! The conversion has been done very sympathetically and has all mod cons. You couldn't ask for more regarding amenities. A very warm welcome and a hamper awaited us. Thank you Nathan. We loved the roof top level, although it is accessed by a ladder not stairs and it is difficult to carry stuff up there. I have to mention the very, very squeaky, noisy wooden spiral staircase. I doubt if anything can be done about it but one bedroom is above the other and you cannot fail to disturb others. In reality the tower is best suited to two couples, due to the mezzanine level and, in our opinion, is not suited to small children. Having said this we wouldn't hesitate going back without our grandchild.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy certain aspects of the property resulting in the 3-star review.

As the property is centuries old we are restricted in what we can do to alter the property. The garage itself is owned by the council and we are unable to make any material changes to its layout.
Although the entrance can be quite narrow due to the layout of the street it does open up into a spacious cavern with room for 3 neatly parked cars.

The roof terrace is accessed via a small ladder which can make carrying certain items to the top challenging however with some team work it is possible to take all items required for a leisurely afternoon to the top.

The mezzanine level was introduced to add a new element to the building and provide an extra bedroom to fill the large main room. Along with the creaky staircase we believe these features add character to the building without which the property would not possess the same charm that makes the 700 year old Tower special. Although we are unable to make changes to the staircase or mezzanine level due to the property being a grade-I listed ancient schedule monument we do hope that you will join us again to re-experience the property and hopefully see it in a new light.

Alternatively we do have another property in the area called 10 St Marys which will provide a very different experience to the Tower. Although it is not as historic as Lendal Tower I believe it could be a great alternative destination for yourself and your family, grandchildren included! (especially the games room).

Best Regards

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vixsta201...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Up up on the roof...little gem of York”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with friends for a week. Really nice property. We were met and given tour of property and a free hamper. Central location to shops, bars and all the attractions. Right on the river. Enough parking undercover for 2 cars but you could easily get 3 small ones in there. Kitchen kitted out really well. Very warm inside. One of the bedrooms has a mezzamine floor which overhangs the lounge so would suggest whoever has this room is last to bed! The 2nd floor was nice. Powerful shower and nice window seats and views. There were a lot of stairs but you got use to them. Pity lift wasnt working for luggage. Now to the roof terrace....well what can i say. For me this was the highlight. I was a bit nervous about ladder but nothing to worry about plenty of handrails and very safe. Fantastic views and excellent for an afternoon of chatting with friends, snacks and Prosecco and we had some sunshine as well which was a bonus. Would certainly recommend..little gem with fantastic roof terrace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind words and comments. We're glad that you were able to experience the roof terrace and take full advantage of the property's features. Unfortunately for health and safety reasons the lift is not used, however i hope it didn't take away too much from the positive aspects of the property.

I hope you will come back to join us and hopefully we can help turn the 4-star review into a 5!

Best Wishes

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiantUk
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in the heart of the City”
Reviewed 9 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of 6 for a week of family celebrations. The Tower is a wonderful place to stay with each bedroom having its own identity. The family loved it. Nathan met us on arrival and gave us a tour of the Tower, so that we immediately felt at home. He even emailed during the week to check that all was well.
This is a great place to stay when visiting York, close enough for everywhere to be within walking distance and yet far enough from the hustle and bustle to have some peace. Unfortunately we did not get to use the roof terrace or garden but can imagine they would be a good place to unwind in the warmer months.
Thank you to everyone who helped to make our week very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and feels special
Liked least: Creaky stairs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind words, i'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
I'm sorry to hear that you weren't able to take advantage of the roof terrace due to the weather however i hope you come back to join us again soon to experience the terrace in fairer weather.

Best Regards
Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing