We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Georgian House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Georgian House
Ranked #88 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Picked this guesthouse due to location as is 5 minutes walk from the centre. Room was basic but we were only sleeping there so not a problem. Breakfast was nothing special but staff were lovely and extremely helpful. You can get a discounted car parking ticket for £3.50 for 24 hrs which is brilliant as we parked up for our 2 day visit so saved us a fortune. We were on the top floor which was ok for us but for anyone elderly or who has trouble with stairs ask for a downstairs room as they wouldn't be able to make the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    145
    66
    34
    48
See reviews for
61
191
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Amazing ...just got back from staying last night 29th July we stayed in the new Mews accommodation no 21 ..absolutely gorgeous couldn't fault it really comfortable beds free wi fi lovely en-suite ...Really friendly staff every single one of them and Breakfast was Fabulous. Really great location 5 mins from Minster and lots of attractions will definitely be back that's for sure... we will be staying longer next time.

Room Tip: we were in the brand new Mews which we couldn't fault we had No 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked two rooms both doubles with en-suit
My mother in law who is 81 years old was supposed to be on the ground floor double-room,
when we arrived, we was shown to our room both on the top floors of the guesthouse.
we stated at the booking a room on the ground floor we was assured this would happen.
Big mistake!!!!
we found the weekend staff was very polite also very friendly, the staff on the Monday was very abrupt not friendly at all.
We would not be staying there again which is a pity as it is so close to the city center.
when we got to our room the workmen was working in the bathroom, the sheets was stained, the door was not locked after the workmen had finished with our luggage in the room the bathroom had not been cleaned after the workmen had gone. our stay was from 25-7-14 - 28-7-14

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted a city centre located, cheap as possible hotel and found this - a good £30 or so less than anything else (we paid £64 for 2 people in a double, no breakfast). Very short walk to the sights, bars and restaurants. A decent sized room with wifi, tv, dressing table + chair, brew facilities plus ensuite bathroom. All perfectly adequate. Parking is in municipal space round the corner @ £3.50/day. Staff were pleasant and helpful in all matters. This place did exactly what it said on the tin. If you want excellence, pay for it and book somewhere else; I'm just saying these guys have set out their stall, pitching their offer at a certain level and they do it very well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Ideally placed for the Minster and the rest of the city centre, the accommodation is comfortable, without being outstanding, but that reflects the price they charge, and after all, we really only needed a bed for the night, and somewhere to sleep after all the walking!! The room was clean, and the bed linen, towels etc, fresh and nicely done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Recently stayed here on a recent visit to York. The location is excellent very close to the city centre but, sadly that is about the only positive thing.

We stayed in the mews part at the rear of the main house which was a real pain if it was raining, especially when trying to get luggage in and out as there is no covered walkway.
The room was poorly ventilated which we found difficult. While there were two "Skylight' openings they did not let in much air. That the room did not have an opening window (given there were three outside walls) is poor design as windows are as much about letting air in as a view. While the room was clean, the water pressure in the shower was abysmal to the point where i delayed washing my hair until we left York - and i only have short hair.

Breakfast was nothing special, providing a cooked breakfast to order, but if you did not eat a hot breakfast choice was minimal. Whole fruit, cereal, toast. Fruit juice was provided as was hot water and tea bags/instant coffee. While i am limited for dietary reasons and cannot drink instant coffee i thought at the very least, pot tea and filter or similar coffee would be a basic standard.

When i inquired about whether they might have Gluten free Bread that i could have for toast, the response was "no we don't but i am sure if you pop next door to Sainsbury's they will have some. This is did, but really, why weren't they "Popping next door to Sainsbury's? Given we had paid 15 pound per person from breakfast I thought this atrocious. My 15 pounds provided me with orange juice! Needless to say we did not eat beakfast there mosty days even though we had prepaid.

While the staff were cheery and friendly i had the distinct impression that they weren't listining and didn't really care anyway.

I would NEVER stay there again and would not recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: No tip would suffice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Bollington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Georgian House is very close to York Minster being only a few hundred yards from Bootham Gate. I was surprised to obtain a big discount on a room so close to the tourist centre, but was disappointed overall, I'm sorry to say. The room was small, but that's no issue; the beds were comfortable, and the bed linen clean. The furniture was solid. Unfortunately the room at the rear of the ground floor smelled strongly of damp carpet. We purchased air freshener at the Sainsbury's Local next door, this didn't help. I think the source of the smell is probably the bathroom flooring, stained along the edge of the bath. The skirting at the end of the shower curtain was clearly water damaged. Repeated soaking of the bathroom floor is the probable cause of the rank sour smell in the room. I was honest about this in the morning on check out, I don't think the woman on the till was surprised. Other details that let the place down: one of the satin covered cushions left as soft furnishing on the bed smelled strongly of body odour in one corner. It took a while to find the source when resting on the bed. I haven't used a freeview TV before which required a signal booster (normal) and also all 4 wall sockets to be plugged in and switched on to avoid interrupted signal. Finally, the rooms in the rear extensions are all separated only by plasterboard, and conversations in the next room were clearly audible. Don't expect privacy. But the staff at breakfast were friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor at the rear of the building unless the rank damp smell has been addressed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#171 of 205 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#41 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#62 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Property: The Georgian House
Address: 35 Bootham, York YO30 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian House 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing