We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb everything was 5 star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burswood Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #54 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“superb everything was 5 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

from the minute we arrived we made to feel very welcome by George & Maureen, the rooms both my wife and I, and my in laws had were fantastic, they were very clean and comfortable and had all the mod cons. The guest house was of easy access to the centre of York via the bus route which was cheap and reliable which is all noted in a concise information guide in your room, you could comfortably walk it in 30 mins. Breakfast was amazing, Quite simply five star all round in a guest house. When we come back to York we will not be looking to book anywhere but the Burswood.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWilson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
210
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Burswood when we came to York for a day before a wedding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were made to feel very welcome.

The room was recently renovated, was luxurious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious and the recommendation for dinner was really good too.

The service was fantastic. Thank-you very much George, you were very generous.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbsource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

What a wonderful guest house. George the owner is so friendly and welcoming and does his utmost to make your visit a pleasure from start to finish. We have just returned from a 2 day stay in the Lavender Room - all the rooms are beautiful, complete with lovely touches such as fluffy dressing gowns and towels and toiletries. A fridge complete with fresh milk and bottled water and plenty of tea, coffee, drinking chocolate and biscuits are provided. The breakfast is superb, taken in the conservatory overlooking George's lovely garden. George's attention to detail is second to none. We cannot fault anything about our stay and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: All tbe rooms are excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie46_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

A warm welcome to a spotlessly clean, quiet and well decorated room overlooking the garden.

The B& B is on a busy road but this is quieter at night - the room we had was located round the back of the building and was also very quiet.

The breakfast was excellently cooked and served by George who is a very good host.

My only suggestion would be that more space in the room could be gained by removing the two arm chairs – but they do offer a very comfortable place to sit and read the paper without sitting on the bed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were given a very warm welcome on arrival from George the owner of the guesthouse and we loved the Primrose suite - it was clean and very comfortable. There is alot of attention paid to the smaller details such as having a small fridge with fresh milk and bottled water. The cooked breakfast in the mornings was really delicious and there was a selection of fresh fruit as well. It was lovely to look onto the garden over breakfast which is very pretty with a pond as well. The location is very peaceful and we found it ideal for buses into the city centre. Overall it was a really enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cath_mcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
264 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed here for one night in December whilst on a flying visit to our son at the University. Stayed in the Primrose room as it could take an extra bed for our daughter. Room was very comfortable well laid out and had lots of facilities. I appreciated the nice touches such as the fresh milk for a cup of tea and the fridge in the room kept it nice and cool.

Breakfast was excellent. I liked the selection of fruit and the 'toast your own' facility which meant that the toast was hot when you wanted to eat it. The view of the garden was lovely - even in the snow.

I believe the ownere was away when we stayed but his replacements were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HUNTINGPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Arrived on a cold wintery night and was made immediately welcome.Room was warm and welcoming with a high quality finish.The bed was comfortable and with a clean and tidy bathroom.Slept like a log!!The following morning had a superb breakfast-freshly made.All in all a great find and very happy to recommend this B@B

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#5 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
2.5 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#6 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Property: Burswood Guest House
Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing