We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a home from home.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #54 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than a home from home.....”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have now stayed at Burswood on two separate occasions, in both instances the stay was perfect.
The rooms are of a very high standard, they are spotless and very comfortable.
This last visit we enjoyed chatting with the owner George, great guy, very friendly and more than happy to help wherever he can.
Lastly I must comment on the Breakfast, in short this is the cherry on top.
Well prepared, good quality ingredients and good choice of options.
If in York, this is where we will always go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
215
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We've just had a wonderful 4 night stay here. A wonderful B&B. Homely, clean and everything that you want. George was a fantastic host, and his breakfast will be hugely missed.
We stayed in the Orchid room with our 5 year old daughter.
We took the bus into town eachtime as there was a bus stop just outside the house.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepollyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My stepdaughter and i stayed overnight here in the Orchid room and had everything required for a very comfortable stay - all the touches you don't get at the Holiday Inn - nice toiletries, fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge, chocolates, biscuits etc etc. The breakfast was very good with a great variety of choice and served in the pleasant little conservatory. Not the cheapest for a B&B but you get what you pay for. It's about 30 minutes walk into the centre of York but ideally placed for the racecourse.
Can definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Me and my girlfreind recently had a long weekend in York and stayed over at the burswood, we both found the stay fantastic. We stayed in the rose room, which although expensive was lovely, the service was verry personal and extremely helpful. It would also be a terrible shame not to mention the fantastic fresh breakfast on offer, poached eggs... Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanimusDesimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at the Burswood to attend a birthday gathering. The guesthouse is perfectly located close to the racecourse on the main road into York with buses and taxis very easy to obtain.
Having picked the orchid room, we were more than happy with room - beautifully decorated, very modern & comfortable and perfect for our stay. George welcomed us and even provided a btl of fresh milk for tea making !
Breakfast was fantastic and very pleasant in the conservatory.
All in all, wonderful gem with fabulous hospitality and we would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this very pretty guest house where from arriving the owner Mr George Lewis couldn't have been more welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean with every single amenity you could wish for breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices set in a beautiful garden room plus very well positioned to get in and out of York easily bus stop just outside the guest house with very frequent buses. We would not hesitate to recommend Burswood to anyone and will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I chose this B&B based on the strength of the reviews on TripAdvisor. The number of reviews are testament to how good this place is. Situated a good 30 minute walk from the city centre, Burswood is just opposite the racecourse with easy bus access to the city if you don't fancy the walk.

We stayed in the Garden room which was accessed by going outside the main property. A lovely, very quiet room with a king sized double bed, very comfortable duvet and pillows, and all the nice little amenities that add an extra touch such as bathrobes, slippers, fresh milk in the fridge and beautiful fluffy white towels. The room was very clean and welcoming, although the decor was a little on the fussy side. The breakfast room was bright and nicely presented, and wow - the breakfast was fantastic, fresh, and just delicious.

The location was OK, a bit out of town which was fine for us as we didn't mind walking. There is a very charming pub next door called the Fox and Roman which did a lovely dinner.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Burswood - we only stayed for one night, but we found it very welcoming and a nice alternative to an impersonal chain hotel. I have given it four stars purely for the fact that I think it was a little pricey and they could have gone a step further with their more expensive rooms - I stayed in a similar place run by a couple in Dartmoor that provided us with the option of champagne and chocolates on arrival and cocktails in the evening.... Considering that the Burswood isn't very central what we paid did seem a lot. That said, I would probably stay here again, just maybe in a cheaper room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plum378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
0.2 mi away
Curzon Lodge and Stable Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 192 in York
221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,389 reviews
5.4 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Property: Burswood Guest House
Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing