We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #55 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great place to stay, lovely host, fab breakfast, so much choice and excellent quality. George is lovely, and his rooms are very clean and comfortable. Very cosy bed! We will be hoping to return! Xxxxxxxx

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NicoleGauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Burswood Guest House is an excellent place to stay. Located opposite the racecourse and a nice 30 minute stroll to the city walls it is perfectly situated. We stayed in the Lavender Room on the first floor which was spotlessly clean, comfortable and included tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge with fresh milk and bottled water plus dressing gowns and slippers. The bathroom was well stocked with all you would require. Breakfast was a real treat with a large choice of fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt plus a full English. For that extra touch of luxury there was also an option of smoked salmon on the menu! George was an excellent host throughout our stay and we will definitely stay here again. I would recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to stay in the York area.

Room Tip: Just a point on the Lavender Room. This is a loft conversion and has sloping ceilings. This was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had an amazing honeymoon stay at the Burswood the honeymoon suite was beautiful and immaculate the bathroom was amazing.The facilities were fab the chocolates are a lovely touch.George the host was a lovely lovely man nothing was too much trouble he makes the most amazing breakfast so much so our stay could of been in a five star hotel .George was also very generous leaving us a lovely suprise bottle of wine in our room to celebrate our wedding we will be staying here again and i have already reccommended the burswood to friends thanks george we had a fab stay .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very nice rooms, comfortable and clean. The breakfast is the best we've had in any B&B, or Hotel for that matter, with lots of choice. The B&B is only a 30 min stroll to the City wall (Also easy to hop on a bus). The pub next door has a good atmosphere and good food (for a chain), most importantly had a choice of real ales ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieandChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

David &Barbara,
Very pleasant stay with kind owner &beautifully appointed bedroom and dining area.Breakfast
Excellent as we're all the amenities. Would recommend to friends.

No reflection on George but if you arrive from the North on the A19 DO NOT get caught by traffic lanes restrictions through the city centre it will cost you dearly(£60) !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 919David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

George very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is exceptional, loads of fresh fruit, as well as the full English and even smoked salmon/scrambled eggs. Room was spotlessly clean and well equipped - bath robes,slippers, mini fridge, toiletries etc.
Perfect location for the races - just across the road and over the course. Bus stop right at the door for popping into town without having to bother with the car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDawsonConsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very friendly owner, both on arrival and during all subsequent conversations with him.
Nice bright comfortable and clean room, and a recently renovated en-suite with a large shower. As you will see from some of our other reviews, I am a lover of a soft bed, so slightly too firm for my liking, but that is more me than the bed!
Breakfast in the morning is absolutely delicious, usual toast and cereals, plus gorgeous fresh fruits with lots of choice, and an amazing freshly cooked breakfast too, one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten. Tea is served to you by George in a lovely big teapot, and the coffee on the machine is really good too.
You get your own front door key so you can come and go as you please, and the pub / restaurant next door does lovely food for an evening meal, and the real ales on offer in it are very good too.
All in all we can highly recommend Burswood House to other travelers to York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank damien_angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
1.9 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#51 of 194 in York
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#60 of 194 in York
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,432 reviews
1.9 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £100 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing