We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exellent english guest house.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burswood Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #54 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ufa, Russia
1 review
“An exellent english guest house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

A clean comfortable room. Very polite and pleasant host. Wonderful breakfast with a good choice of fruits. Excellent quality-price ratio. The location was good. Nearby is a nice pub with a good food choices.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank radchrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
210
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked three rooms for a family visit to York, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My husband and I had the Orchid room, it was wonderful, there was absolutely everything you would want in the room, it has been very well planned, and every comfort considered. The bed was very, very, comfortable, in fact I asked George,the host, if I could take it home with me! George was very friendly, and caring, and cooked a delicious breakfast for us all. I would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone. Thank you again George

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Amazingly relaxing contemporary accommodation, lovely breakfast with vast selection of great quality food, lovely host George, nothing too much trouble to ensure your stay is memorable. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lavender room has less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here but felt that it was overpriced. The guest house was very clean and the host friendly. The room was a bit 'fussy' and cluttered for our taste and the bed too soft. It was also really hot! The location was good, a 10 minute easy bus ride into York City centre but it felt as though the guest house was charging city centre prices. The breakfast was good and plenty of choice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodenowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull , Engand, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This guest house is a real find.....dressing gowns, slippers in the rooms and fresh milk in the fridge amongst other things. George the owner is very approachable and makes a great breakfast!. The house is on a main bus route and is half an hour walk into the centre of York going past the racecourse ...will definately be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

After reading the previous reviews I booked and was not disappointed. The rooms are extremely comfy, spotlessly clean and great quality bedding making for a fantastic nights sleep. We all enjoyed the breakfast something for all tastes is available here! George was friendly and helpful, making our stay very enjoyable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0SarahnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

A comfortable short stay in an outstanding guest house. The breakfast is excellent with some lovely extra touches. The host ensures that nothing is too much trouble. Situated close to some large chain hotels, the Burswood beats them for comfort, service and that extra attention.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#5 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#6 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#60 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Property: Burswood Guest House
Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing