We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #58 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We booked into the Lavender room on our recent visit to York. This was a delightful room, slightly smaller than we had imagined but other than that very presentable and had everything we needed. We had a beautiful 3 night stay and the double bed was very comfortable.
George and Maureen made us feel very welcome and prepared breakfast to our specific requirements, almost wished we had more time to spend chatting with them!
All in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Curtly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
211
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very friendly. Lovely service. Gorgeous room. Lovely breakfast with qgreat ootions. Would definitely stay again. We stayed on an easter weekend so was a little too expensive not sure on usual rate to judge value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muaythaiaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved it! George and Maureen were perfect hosts and everything was above our expectations.
Lovely large comfortable clean room. The Orchid room .
Great selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals for breakfast plus an equally good choice for a perfectly cooked one.
We found the location ideal for our needs. We were able to walk into the centre of York in about 45 minutes.
There is a very good bus service close by but we didn't have to use it.
Good parking and free WiFi were an added bonus.
Just cannot fault the experience at Burswood and thank you George and Maureen for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The best thing about Burswood is George himself he makes you feel like one of his family. The room was excellent, breakfast was even better. Would recommend Burswood to anybody and if we are back in York again we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the afternoon and was greeted by our host George and shown our room which was well above our expectations, the tastefull decor and five star fittings and a very comfy large double bed.
The next morning was also a five star breakfast and the selection on offer toast,cerials, tea or ground coffee, and a perfectly cooked full English breakfast
Can only very strongly recommend a stay well worth the price and the handiness for the city of York. Once again thank you for a perfect nights stay and making us feel welcome John and Christine

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at Burswood Guesthouse and myself and my partner are already missing it! What a fantastic place to stay.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded without extra charge into the beautiful Orchid Room. It was well furnished with a huge, comfortable bed, modern and spacious bathroom and the all-important tea and coffee making facilities, complete with mini-fridge. It was a real luxurious haven after a long day exploring York.

Burswood is more than just well-presented rooms. George and Maureen, the owners, are paragons of excellent service and friendliness. They made our stay extra special and were always on hand for useful advice or just a nice chat! The conservatory breakfasts were just phenomenal, with fresh fruit and cereal or George's made to order cooked breakfast. We were never left asking for anything with George and Maureen always checking to make sure all was well.

The guest house truly made our stay in York special. I would recommend it highly and would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siyoung91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Burswood Guest House is about a mile and a half from the train station, and therefore a nice walk into town or a quick cab ride. It is decorated in such a fun, welcoming way with silk flowers and twinkly lights - combined with the friendliness of the hosts, you can't help but feel welcome. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was great - fresh fruit and eggs to order, along with local specialties. Burswood Guest House is clean, comfortable and affordable, and the hosts could not be more lovely! We won't forget our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#53 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Property: Burswood Guest House
Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing