We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The York Priory
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
252
202
55
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
202
55
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfridge downstairscity centresuperior roomfresh milkdog friendly hotelfamily roomshort walk along the riversky tvkippersfull englishtop floorroad noisefree parkingguest houseenjoyed our stayprivate car parkgood size
Filter
Updating list...
436 - 441 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The York Priory is a welcoming friendly hotel. We stayed only for one night in the four poster bedroom which was spotlessly clean and comfortable as was the rest of the hotel. The gardens were lovely, staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. The location of the hotel is perfect for reaching the town center. When we visit York again we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

A large group of us met in York for a memorial dinner for my father. Several of us who were booked in to another guesthouse were immediately thrown out by the mad man of an owner! So we had nowhere to stay and several of the party had travelled a long way to be there. We then found shelter at The York Priory!
It was simply wonderful! We were let in as soon as we rang the doorbell by extremely kind and friendly staff. There was also a huge alsation sprawled across the floor who is the friendliest lump of dog I have ever come across! As we are all animal lovers, this was immediately a bonus! There were also facilities for free tea and coffee in the entrance/living room.
We were checked in quickly and efficiently and were shown to our rooms. They were nothing fancy but the view of the garden was wonderful and the beds were beyond comfy! There is fresh milk available downstairs for cups of tea and coffee in your rooms. There is also a covered smoking area in the back garden. The garden is beautiful!
We had breakfast in the morning which was wonderful! A full english breakfast cooked to order (the fried eggs were perfect!), fresh fruit (including watermelon and fresh pineapple), yoghurts, toast, juice, everything you could want! The staff were extremely friendly and completely on the ball with everything!
If I stay in York again, I will most certainly be staying at this place again!
Wonderful! Thank you very much for making the weekend run smoothly after a very shaky start!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatHerder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed here for two nights . lovely hotel very friendly was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good.Ten minute walk along the river to centre of town .We were on our way back home from Alton Towers, and deceided we would break the journey home. Plenty to do and see just wish we had more time there . Would recomend this hotel no problem .Traffic noise at front of hotel , But it wouldnt put me off staying here. The garden is lovely to sit in and have refreshments

Room Tip: When booking request a back facing room if you want to avoid nose from traffic
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela-abel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the York Priory with our 3 teens. We rented the adjoining family room - which was airy and spacious. The facility is very well kept, in a safe and relatively quiet location. It is a 10 minute walk to the center of York along the river (which is about a two minute walk behind the property) - so, extremely convenient. Staff was very friendly, and breakfast was extremely good.

We would highly recommend the Priory and would definitely stay there on our next visit to York.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripeaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

nothing like photo, room was basic, cluttered and could do with a good clean top to bottom. we were in a front facing room traffic busy never slept most of the night. was a fusty smell when you walked into room, bathroom floor sloped and toilet and bath was right infront of a big front window with discoloured net curtain.
staff very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. but would not recommend it to anyone I know.
Never a four star not even a three, sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 123tazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews