We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of The York Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The York Priory
Ranked #35 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night on the way to Scotland. The family room was on the top of the house. Spacious with one double bed and two single beds. The bathroom was small. There was a charming garden outside which we did not get a chance to enjoy. The inn is a short walk away from the river and centre of town. All in all, recommended.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank MamsyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Been visiting this establishment roughly 4 times a year, for the last 10 years. We have always been welcomed warmly when staying here. The service is very friendly with a homely atmosphere an the staff are very accommodating. They have a good selection of breakfasts on a morning... We recommend the full English. The rooms are warm, clean an welcoming with excellent comfy beds. There is a bar in the hotel with a decent selection, an not too costly either. Very nice to make use of on a warm summers night especially when sitting in their picturesque garden. If venturing out, you only need cut through their car park an your brought out to the river Ouse where there is lots to be seen as you wander into the city. (Roughly a 10/15min walk). This is a hotel my husband an myself would definitely recommend, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lornaandcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie J, Owner at The York Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for such lovely positive feedback, it always so nice to hear a guest’s kind and appreciative thoughts. We feel very honoured that you choose to stay at The York Priory every year and we really value your loyalty. We pride ourselves on wonderful customer service, and are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be welcoming and accommodating. I have informed the staff of your experience with us - such a great way to motivate the team. Thank you and we hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This gem of a guest house ticks all the boxes. A short walk (along a beautiful canal) to the city, free parking in an area with very little, free English or Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Sky TV in every room and a family suite that sleeps 5 people comfortably in two separate rooms.
As a former Chef, I was particularly impressed with the food, which was cooked to perfection and was better than many a place we ate at in the UK (Black Pudding was optional!).

The staff are very friendly (I booked over the phone from Australia and got the best rate). The garden is delightful (we ate our first lunch in a lovely shaded canopy) and there is even a bar area if you need a drink after a day of "Are we there yet?"

If you add up the cost of parking in York and a full breakfast for every member of a family then the York Priory is a no brainier and was easily our favourite accommodation on our Family vacation.

Room Tip: Pick the family suite for 4 or more people as there is a second room if you want a bit of privacy or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pillazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie J, Owner at The York Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

It was a real pleasure reading your review, it is always so nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us, and appreciate the little extras like the free car park and free WIFI. I have passed your compliments onto our chef, who was thrilled to hear another chef was impressed with his home cooking. As you pointed out, booking direct will give guests the best rate and the option of including breakfast. We hope one day you will return to the UK and you are very welcome back at The York Priory. Thank you from all the team at “your favourite accommodation”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the Priory in June and look forward to going again on my next trip to York. The friendliness of Liz and Pam and all the staff make it a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Everything was great: the beautiful garden in the back; the large parking area; the great breakfasts; the dog-friendliness complete with Bella and Roxie! The location is perfect - a short ride by city bus into town, but close enough to walk - it's a short walk down the side street to the river and the walk along the river into the city is very pleasant. Next time I must have a drink in their very nice bar. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Rob Turner,
London, Canada

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night. The hotel is very conveniently located for the city centre, which can easily be reached by walking along the river.The staff are very welcoming and eager to help with any suggestions for things to do and places to eat. They offer an excellent breakfast with lots of choices. The room are spacious, clean and well equipped. he hotel also has a small bar and a beautiful garden in which to relax. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
One word of caution, you may have to climb lots of stairs with your luggage!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if climbing stairs will be a problem. There is no lift/elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here on friday night had largefamily room at top of house , was vert
very clean and tidy , hotel grounds were lovely a real home from home.breakfast was very nic3.its a short walk along the riverbank in to York. Close by was nice pub and good indian restaurant

Room Tip: Top bedrooms large but road noise heard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked a 2 night stay at The York Priory in May 2014 (Friday & Saturday night). The reason I booked was it was a good price and there is on site parking (£5 refundable charge). It was also convient for York City Centre (just outside the City Walls) and the University where I was attending an event. We arrived quite late to a warm welcome. Our room was just above reception on the first floor. It was clean & quite spacious but due the age of the building the floor sloped a little. We had a view of the garden from our room. The ensuite bathroom was large and clean. The bar was small but had Sky TV and very reasonable good quality drinks, you could also sit in the lounge where there was another TV.
You could also take a flask of fresh milk from the fridge in reception to your room if you didn't want UHT. I lovely idea.
Staff we all very friendly and helpful. We asked about somewhere to eat that wasn't a chain and we were told to try Tito's a family run italian just up the road, which was lovely and quite reasonable.
Their is a choice of cooked breakfast from full english to yorkshire sunrise and kippers along side a selection of continental and do your own toast.
There are also a few friendly dogs that either live or come to the hotel with staff. They were very friendly but there was no dog smell.
We had very strange weather when we stayed so it was difficult to get the temperature of the room right to sleep because it was warm & muggy on minute and a storm the next so was it leave the window open or closed.
I would definitely stay here again. I am hoping to go to the same event next year at the University so will be booking up as soon as I have a place confirmed. Hoping to stay again May 2015.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plasticjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#23 of 194 in York
1,124 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Priory

Address: 126-128 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The York Priory 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Priory Guest Accommodation. The York Priory was a Grand Victorian End Terrace, of a private residence, that was converted into a hotel in the 1930s by the present owners' grandmother. Its always fondly remembered by customers for the Twin Gothic Arches in the gardens, an original `Victorian Folly' The guesthouse is period styled in William Morris wallcoverings he was a famous designer of the Victorian Era. Eclectic and unique it is a far cry away from the modern, purpose built chain hotels. The Guesthouse could not be better located for the city centre. It's situated less than a mile away from the city centre via pretty riverside promenade, which take you to the historic attractions and a wonderful selection of 1st class restaurants and bars. The York Priory has a large car park to the rear of the guesthouse providing ample free parking space for all the customers of the hotel, for the duration of your stay in York. Just park your car you won't need it If walking isn't your thing then several buses stop outside and return right in front of the guesthouse, all of which go to the city centre and the station. The York Priory is proud to welcome well behaved owners, and their dogs. We are pet friendly and welcome your pets by prior arrangements (a small surcharge is applicable). Special terms and conditions will apply when bringing your pet. We have accommodation to suit all. From a large Adjoining family room that sleeps 5 people over 2 rooms to the smallest room in the house, an en-suite single bedded room overlooking the gardens. The romantic 4 Poster Room has a large bathroom with a full size bath luxury bathrobes and satellite TV. The cosy Classic rooms are en-suite all have flat screen TV, tea and coffee making whilst the comfortable Superior bedrooms are individually decorated and ideal for a longer stay with luxury bathrobes, satellite TV (including a free home movie package), Tea and Coffee Making with upgraded hospitality tray. The Priory is an ideal for an overnight stay or for longer, more relaxing break, visiting the sights of York. Make it more than just a brief visit there's plenty to see and do especially when it's just an hour's ride away all North Yorkshires attractions. On your return, relax into your bedroom or enjoy a drink in the bar, or in the gardens terrace. Whatever your reason for your visit to York you can be sure of a warm Yorkshire Greeting at the York Priory. Ideally situated for The University and The racecourse. The York Priory is situated in the Fishergate the 1036 inner ring road of Fulford road near the city centre and Not to be mistaken with Fulford Village, which is 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The York Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Priory Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing