We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait for next visit.”
Review of The York Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The York Priory
Ranked #39 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cant wait for next visit.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stay here 5 or 6 times a year its like going home Liz and staff are brilliant. Breakfast really sets you up for the day. Only a five minute walk along the river and you are into the town centre. Rooms are lovely and clean and nothing is too much trouble for Liz and the team. Cant wait for our next trip

Room Tip: We like a room at back of hotel overlooking the garden, lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iangribbin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    186
    54
    15
    15
See reviews for
127
245
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Came here for a one night stay, was warmly greeted upon arrival and was given a thorough run down on all the facilities at the hotel and surrounding area.
Our room was clean, quiet and had good facilities in it! The 24 hour key service was excellent too!
The staff were lovely and polite and would definitely recommend anyone to here as it is in walking distance to York centre.

Room Tip: Rooms around the back of the priory are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyecoates91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have stayed now on 3 occasions . Each time having a very warm welcome . The breakfasts are excellent , staff are lovely & friendly , rooms very comfortable . The location is fab plus parking too . Couldn't ask for better

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for the Music Weekend at York Races, having read the tripadvisor reviews we were slightly unsure what the hotel would be like. As has been said before the hotel is a bit dated but it actually goes with the style of the building, everything is very clean and the welcome you receive from front desk staff is great. We had a four poster bed in our room and it was very comfortable which is sometimes not the case with hotels, just a small issue was the pillows there were not very firm. The room had a really large bathroom with shower, the shower screen could have been a bit bigger as you soaked the floor unintentionally when you showered. The added bonus this hotel has is it's car park as York is extremely busy and not many hotels have this facility. It is around 10/15 minutes walk to the centre of town, we will book this again next time we are in York

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjip_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the York Priory over the weekend of the Tour De France in Yorkshire, and found it to be an ideal base, not only for seeing the two stages of The Tour, but also for York in general.

The hotel is a little dated, but very clean and comfortable, and I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Since I was driving, it was good to have off-road parking round the back of the hotel and I never had any problems finding a parking space.

The breakfast I had there was very nice, and it was also an added bonus to have a bar in the hotel, which seemed to be very reasonably priced (well certainly to a southerner like me anyway).

York is a beautiful place, but seemed like it had the potential to get a bit lairy on a Friday and Saturday night with all the stag and hen parties, so I was actually quite pleased that I stayed a few minutes out of the centre.

Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Headington_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Myself & my partner stayed here a few weeks ago'... With our 2 little dogs..We stayed in the four poster room, Which was comfy and lovely.. We had our own private bathroom, & The bath was so BIG'... Perfect for a long soak! The breakfast was tasty, With lots of choice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful"... The York Priory has a very laid back feel'... With beautiful gardens, & A nice 10-15 minute stroll along the river to YORK'.. It was the perfect get away! Nothing bad to say here... All good :-)

Room Tip: Four Poster Room'... PERFECT....Our Bathroom' PERFECT..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

All staff were friendly, polite and obliging. We loved our room, the location was great and the guest house was a perfect for our 2 nights in this lovely city. Also, the breakfast selection was wonderful and the food delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shopie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.2 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
0.9 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 192 in York
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#73 of 192 in York
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthorseman
Lighthorseman
#78 of 192 in York
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Priory

Property: The York Priory
Address: 126-128 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The York Priory 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Priory Guest Accommodation. The York Priory was a Grand Victorian End Terrace, of a private residence, that was converted into a hotel in the 1930s by the present owners' grandmother. Its always fondly remembered by customers for the Twin Gothic Arches in the gardens, an original `Victorian Folly' The guesthouse is period styled in William Morris wallcoverings he was a famous designer of the Victorian Era. Eclectic and unique it is a far cry away from the modern, purpose built chain hotels. The Guesthouse could not be better located for the city centre. It's situated less than a mile away from the city centre via pretty riverside promenade, which take you to the historic attractions and a wonderful selection of 1st class restaurants and bars. The York Priory has a large car park to the rear of the guesthouse providing ample free parking space for all the customers of the hotel, for the duration of your stay in York. Just park your car you won't need it If walking isn't your thing then several buses stop outside and return right in front of the guesthouse, all of which go to the city centre and the station. The York Priory is proud to welcome well behaved owners, and their dogs. We are pet friendly and welcome your pets by prior arrangements (a small surcharge is applicable). Special terms and conditions will apply when bringing your pet. We have accommodation to suit all. From a large Adjoining family room that sleeps 5 people over 2 rooms to the smallest room in the house, an en-suite single bedded room overlooking the gardens. The romantic 4 Poster Room has a large bathroom with a full size bath luxury bathrobes and satellite TV. The cosy Classic rooms are en-suite all have flat screen TV, tea and coffee making whilst the comfortable Superior bedrooms are individually decorated and ideal for a longer stay with luxury bathrobes, satellite TV (including a free home movie package), Tea and Coffee Making with upgraded hospitality tray. The Priory is an ideal for an overnight stay or for longer, more relaxing break, visiting the sights of York. Make it more than just a brief visit there's plenty to see and do especially when it's just an hour's ride away all North Yorkshires attractions. On your return, relax into your bedroom or enjoy a drink in the bar, or in the gardens terrace. Whatever your reason for your visit to York you can be sure of a warm Yorkshire Greeting at the York Priory. Ideally situated for The University and The racecourse. The York Priory is situated in the Fishergate the 1036 inner ring road of Fulford road near the city centre and Not to be mistaken with Fulford Village, which is 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The York Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Priory Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing