We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of Grange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grange Lodge
Ranked #78 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at this B&B. Sarah and Nick provide a warm welcome and the accommodation is homely and comfortable. We looked forward to returning at the end of each evening as you knew you were going to get a good nights sleep. The breakfasts were great and they have extended times at weekends which is a nice touch. Grange Lodge was exactly the sort of B&B we were looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frex_Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Recently had a fab stay at the Grange Lodge in York. I found the door code system really good if you just want to be popping in and out throughout your stay rather than leaving keys at reception all the time.
The owners were very friendly and more than accomodating i.e getting us an iron and even at one point asking if we had a taxi ordered or he would of dropped us in town. The placement of the Grange is perfect for a little walk into the town centre but with plenty of amenities right nearby. Breakfast was beautiful and I noticed the 5 star food hygiene on the wall, I have to agree with as although very homely the full place was very clean.
I'm planning on taking my daughter for an overnight stay soon and will definitely be staying here. I don't know where some of the people commenting were staying as I disagree with all of them. Highly recommended for friendly owners/ staff, clean conditions, comfortable bed, beautiful breakfast and so easy to find your way into the centre (5 minutes stroll)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantelle_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Very friendly staff and owners, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast is outstanding! This is a good value for money guest house in a great location for the city of York. Easy (street) parking too. Rooms were compact but clean and homely. Street is mostly residential so nice and quiet for a good nights sleep. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Rhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

As a solo traveller it isn't always easy to find a b&b with single rooms - if they have its often too pricey. The Grange Lodge has a very nice single room - small but ensuite and with everything you need and a sensible price. Very friendly owners, easily walkable into the centre and satisfyingly outside York City football ground. The owners provide a parking permit which is very useful. Would very happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The parking permit is very useful in the side roads where all is residents only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night in room 8, we made our way in using the self-check in service which we found really easy and helpful for when we arrived late back to the room in the evening. Grange lodge had a very homely, comfortable feeling and we found our room (Double deluxe room) to be just right for us. However, there were problems with the heater, where on a few occasions throughout the night and definatley in the morning we woke up to a very cold room. The breakfast was delicious and freshly made when we arrived downstairs. Grange lodge is ideally located just a short 10 minute walk from the York Minster, very easy to find and an enjoyable walk. Sarah kindly allowed us to keep the parking permit for the whole of the second day, which saved us a lot of hassle looking for parking and also costs. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Grange Lodge, and would definatley look to stay again in the new year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandm f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed here for one night in Room no 8 which is classed as a luxury room and costs £90. I think that was a bit over priced as the only so called luxury is the fact that the bathroom has a spa bath with a TV in the wall. The room is tiny , bathroom even tinier. Couldn't get the spa bath to work and the novelty of the TV in the bathroom soon wore off. There is no view at all as the room is in the attic so only has roof lights. The room was very clean but up three flights of stairs and the bed was very hard. Hardly slept at all. To me a luxury room should have lovely toiletries and bath robes and even a few biscuits to have with your tea but there was none of that. Breakfast was delicious and the staff very freindly and its in a good location. Wouldn't stay again though. Next time we go to York I will choose somewhere overlooking the river. Ate at the No 8 Gillygate restaurant which was yummy

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletcherviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

i found grange lodge easy to find and a its only a short walk into york itself .the lodge was very clean with nice decor and a modern en-suite.the general appearance of the lodge was warm and welcoming with friendly helpful staff.there was plenty of parking spaces on the road outside of the lodge and the lodge provides a parking permit for the staythe only slight difficulty was using the combination lock on an evening not a major problem just mahe sure you have your glasses to hand .would stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara_miglentsis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.0 mi away
Brentwood Guest House
Brentwood Guest House
#52 of 194 in York
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burton Villa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 194 in York
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Guest House
0.3 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#51 of 194 in York
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge

Address: 52 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £71 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing