We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best english breakfast”
Review of Grange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grange Lodge
Ranked #76 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Were cozy rooms, delicious breasfasts and friendly atmosphere. But the most important were the owners,Nick and Sarah, they were really taking care of guests. My friends and I stayed there for two nights and we didn't want to live. I would strongly recommend this hotel,it's a lovely place to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polina139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Fantastic stay we had here for two nights ,Nick and Sarah Grange Lodge owners made us feel very welcome indeed.
The double on suite room we stayed in was very lovely and very clean,well maintained too ,breakfast was plentyful and yummy ,overall a fantastic stay and we will definately will be returning to the Grange Lodge in the future :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Brilliant place, cheap stay for a weekend in York, breakfast was fantastic and staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the area.

Would fully recommend to anyone great value and right next to the football ground if your visiting for an away day!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joepinchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at Grange Lodge at the end of August for our wedding anniversary. We received a warm and friendly welcome and were issued with a parking permit to park right outside. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was very clean and well decorated. Shower room was fine but a little small and the sink was in the bedroom itself but this did not bother us. Breakfast was superb and they kept offering more coffee and food. Ideal location a short walk from the centre of York.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This fantastic guest house is clean, vas a cozy atmorphere, perfect located very near to the city centre and at the same time away from turists and noise. The owners are amazingly friendly and make us feel very wellcome during the whole staying.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilianSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in sept 2013 for a weekend. We were given a friendly welcome and given keys with door code and a parking pass for the car on the street. The room was clean tidy it was nothing fancy but had all you need with a welcome pack. Also there was tea and coffee provided.The breakfast was excellant lots to choose from and very friendly service.The location is a very easy stroll about 10 minutes to castle wall.
We enjoyed our stay and have booked again and our looking forward to our stay

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsdee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed two nights in room 6. As others have mentioned it was quite small, and the carpet / furniture could maybe do with replacing, however it was reasonably clean, and the bed comfortable - and it was perfectly fine for a brief stay. The location is reasonably good, far enough away not to be loud at night, close enough to be only a brief stroll into the centre. Breakfast was very nice - a little early for a weekend for me, so we missed the second day - though they did offer to do it later we were packed and ready to go so didn't take them up on it. The owner was friendly and welcoming and all in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandoraspages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#18 of 47 in York
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
0 mi away
Brentwood Guest House
Brentwood Guest House
#51 of 194 in York
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#14 of 194 in York
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge

Address: 52 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £58 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Grange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing