We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monkgate Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monkgate Guest House
Ranked #69 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

My two-year-old daughter and I stayed there over a long weekend. Service was impeccable and the room was cozy; my only complaint is that the room was advertised on the booking site as having an en-suite bath when it, in fact, did not. Not the fault of Monkgate, however; I shall be taking it up with the booking site separately. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishTigger1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    36
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
53
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

B&B easy to find in quiet but central location very close to 'Walls'- also short riverside walk nearby for pre-breakfast walk. Room very attractive and clean - esp liked large separate en-suite bathroom. Secure parking is rather tight fit - but lucky to have parking at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tattyowdbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed here in April for a couple of nights - breakfast was excellent and the rooms were comfortable.

Couple running the B&B were very helpful and provided good advice on places to eat and visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewRichardScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Just back from an overnight stay at Monkgate Guest House in York with my wife and 2 daughters (9 & 6). We booked the family room and were delighted with what we found - a large main bedroom and a further bedroom with 2 twin rooms at the back, leading to a bathroom beyond. The many teddy bears spread throughout the rooms were a really nice touch and a hit with the girls. There was everything we needed - even a cupboard full of board games, which I'm sure we would have played if we'd been staying longer.
Service from Mr & Mrs Brown was great from start to finish. Rooms were really quiet as face onto a side lane, not the main road. Breakfast was fine. Location was great, as it was a short walk into York city centre. Parking on site was a bit of a squeeze, but we got free access to a pub carpark across the road, which helped during the day. One small gripe - towels were nice and fluffy, but really don't do the job to get you dry...
All in all, a great place for a young family to stay for a night or 2.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidLeeds73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We have been going to the monkgate guest house for a few years now every time we go we get a very warm welcome the rooms are very clean and warm the breakfast is very good and is well sited for visiting york and the surrounding area JANE&WILLIAM are the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

clean and tidy, very welcoming on arrival. William and Jane were so nice, and helpfull. Breakfast was lovely, but hard to get up for due to the beds being so comfy. The minor faults were, no iron and ironing board inside room and very tight parking ( but william was more than happy to park your car). Ideally situated for the city attractions, We will definately be returning, and a big thank you to william and jane.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Stayed at monkgate guesthouse with a large party of friends(16) and not a bad word from anyone.Ideal location,well run guesthouse,great breakfast,well worth a try

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lestertony_allatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#43 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#29 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cavalier
The Cavalier
#81 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#38 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
York House
York House
#65 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkgate Guest House

Property: Monkgate Guest House
Address: 65 Monkgate, York YO31 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkgate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkgate Guest House is 200 years old and is only five minutes walk from York Minster and the city centre where you will find beautiful shops and restaurants and all York's attractions close to hand. The property was originally three Georgian cottages so it is cosy and rambling with the quaint features you would expect from an older property. We have two rooms on the ground floor and the other rooms are on the first floor accessed by a flight of stairs. Our breakfast room is warm and inviting and we provide a full, freshly cooked English breakfast with eggs cooked to your requirements alongside the other menu options. We have limited off street parking in a narrow driveway at the side of the house, you will be able to forget your car then and walk to all the amenities! We can however try to arrange more parking if necessary. Free wifi is available in the public rooms and most bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Monkgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkgate Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing