We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were over the moon, more than we expected. we recomend it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monkgate Guest House
Ranked #74 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2011

we came from holland and expected normal 3 star accomodation but but were blown away with room, hostpitality, food and location. we felt we were made welcome as i hope all the other guests felt. we recomend it highly. a big thumbs up thanks

Room Tip: we had double ground floor room and heard nothing from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommonaghan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

Just spent a weekend at the Monkgate Guest House, we had a family room for 2 nights. This Guest House gives first quality service and the best breakfast ever. Will and Jane are welcoming, friendly and go ouy of their way to spend time with all the guests individually. To some rooms may need an update but this is not a cheap chain hotel therefore it's individuality to us, made it special. We shall be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylviacatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We picked Monkgate on the strength of reviews... I thought the room was dreadful. We had the family room which should have been perfect but was shabby and the carpet was grim. The beds were 'rubbery' to quote my 8 yr old and the bathroom ceiling had black mould. The windows were filthy and Teddys dusty. How this GH has 16 excellent reviews is beyond me.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Faithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

rooms comfy but could do with a bit of refurbishment. breakfasts were freshly cooked and very tasty. hosts very friendly and helpful. guest house in good location for walking into city. would recommend for interesting city break.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is the second stay at the Monkgate. As usual Jane and William the perfect hosts! I could not find fault with anything during my stay. This building is Grade llisted and unfortunately one cannot alter things as one would like. I for one find this most acceptable as we must keep within the law and not demolish walls and fittings just to suit!!! I would imagine no one would like to build a typical conservatory with a tv on the east wing of the Minster! This guest house in my opinion is cosy and comfortable and Jane and William give the guests the freedom of coming and going as they wish. As perfect hosts they don't interfere with the guests' area. I would like to thank Jane for her extremely kind gesture on my departure.

Room Tip: Stay with the people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank selenafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My two-year-old daughter and I stayed there over a long weekend. Service was impeccable and the room was cozy; my only complaint is that the room was advertised on the booking site as having an en-suite bath when it, in fact, did not. Not the fault of Monkgate, however; I shall be taking it up with the booking site separately. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrishTigger1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

B&B easy to find in quiet but central location very close to 'Walls'- also short riverside walk nearby for pre-breakfast walk. Room very attractive and clean - esp liked large separate en-suite bathroom. Secure parking is rather tight fit - but lucky to have parking at all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tattyowdbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
York House
York House
#68 of 194 in York
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#52 of 194 in York
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dovecote House
Dovecote House
#54 of 194 in York
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blakeney House
Blakeney House
#33 of 194 in York
228 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Georgian House
The Georgian House
#79 of 194 in York
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkgate Guest House

Address: 65 Monkgate, York YO31 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £67 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkgate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkgate Guest House is 200 years old and is only five minutes walk from York Minster and the city centre where you will find beautiful shops and restaurants and all York's attractions close to hand. The property was originally three Georgian cottages so it is cosy and rambling with the quaint features you would expect from an older property. We have two rooms on the ground floor and the other rooms are on the first floor accessed by a flight of stairs. Our breakfast room is warm and inviting and we provide a full, freshly cooked English breakfast with eggs cooked to your requirements alongside the other menu options. We have limited off street parking in a narrow driveway at the side of the house, you will be able to forget your car then and walk to all the amenities! We can however try to arrange more parking if necessary. Free wifi is available in the public rooms and most bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monkgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkgate Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing