We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monkgate Guest House
Ranked #72 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Postives
On short notice we called in for a B n B for three of us. The owners of the B n B couldnt have been more helpful, settling us in to the family room. Very close to get to town and to see all the attractions in York.
Breakfast couldnt have been more delicious. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners really do know the area well and can answer any questions. Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.
Negatives
Only two minor ones which came to light after we left so we couldnt address them at the time, Bathroom door needs a larger lock on from outside to keep the door shut at night and it would help to have a sign on the wee door to say mind head when going in and out. Although the room is family therefore the bedroom would have children in it when adults stay in it ,, one of the guests kept banging her head when she had shoes on coming out the door. Nothing that cannot be sorted and wont put any of us from staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alinz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane307, Owner at Monkgate Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
It was lovely to meet you all and thank you for your constructive comments.
It is always a great help to us when people point out valid improvements that can be made and we do do our best to implement them. If ever you are passing through again we hope you will look us up! best wishes Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    37
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
54
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I was there in July 2011 on my own and I didn't feel alone at all. the family was really friendly and the room was cosy and had tv, tea and coffee making facilities, there is also a large supermarket opposite if you need anything. The small bathroom had lovely towels and toiletries, this is important as you are not allowed to travel in an aircraft with more than 100 mls of fluid. There was an excellent choice of breakfasts and choice of brown or white bread, this is also very important. I will certainly be going there again. The price was very good for a guest house that is near the centre of the city, it is also only 20 mins walk from the railway station. I really liked the personal touch, teddy on the bed and the owners took a real interest in the needs of the guest.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henri2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I note that Monkgate has some wildly divergent reviews. I think that there are some real pros and cons which, on balance, make it a place I would recommend.

Is the location good?
Yes. This is unquestionably the number one reason that you would choose Monkgate. We were touring the UK with a car, so wanted somewhere we could park in York but then walk into town. If you are going to York for the first time, I cannot recommend this aspect highly enough. Monkgate’s side of town is also a real positive. It was a simple and quick stroll to many restaurants, as well as all the places that you would want to see.

What is the room like?
We had the family room. This was tight. To get to the bathroom you have to walk through the kid’s room (between the beds), and this was really small. Having said that, the rooms were adequate, and a sacrifice that we were prepared to make to stay so close to the city.

But are the beds comfortable?
They were fine. Everyone slept well – there is some minor foot traffic noise that you can get as people walk home from pubs, but that is it.

What was the food like?
Good. The cooked breakfast and other options were fine, and if you wanted more toast etc, not a problem. The breakfast room was a pleasant place to be, and the hosts helpful. A nice touch was rotating guests around tables each morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DadTravelOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great location for all attractions, there's a beautiful Italian restaurant just down the road which we loved. Lots of bars nearby. I'd be back in an instant. Owners are lovely and accomodating. Our room was a decent size, only issue we had was that the fan in the bathroom really wasn't powerful enough and so we had a bit of a 'steam room'. Tea and coffee facilities. A nice, big breakfast provided in the morning. Owners always had polite chit-chat and suggestions of places we shouldn't miss during our stay. We recommend the walking tours. They were helpful enough to allow us to leave our rucksacks a while until our train home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We have been visiting York for over 18 years and stayed in numerous B&Bs until we discovered Monkgate and have stayed usually twice a year for the past five years. I think we have stayed in most of the rooms. It is everything a proper English B&B should be, with the most friendly welcome, excellent breakfast, clean, as well as being perfectly situated. We will be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPurvesAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

we came from holland and expected normal 3 star accomodation but but were blown away with room, hostpitality, food and location. we felt we were made welcome as i hope all the other guests felt. we recomend it highly. a big thumbs up thanks

Room Tip: we had double ground floor room and heard nothing from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommonaghan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Just spent a weekend at the Monkgate Guest House, we had a family room for 2 nights. This Guest House gives first quality service and the best breakfast ever. Will and Jane are welcoming, friendly and go ouy of their way to spend time with all the guests individually. To some rooms may need an update but this is not a cheap chain hotel therefore it's individuality to us, made it special. We shall be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviacatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#45 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cavalier
The Cavalier
#81 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
York House
York House
#64 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#37 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkgate Guest House

Property: Monkgate Guest House
Address: 65 Monkgate, York YO31 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkgate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkgate Guest House is 200 years old and is only five minutes walk from York Minster and the city centre where you will find beautiful shops and restaurants and all York's attractions close to hand. The property was originally three Georgian cottages so it is cosy and rambling with the quaint features you would expect from an older property. We have two rooms on the ground floor and the other rooms are on the first floor accessed by a flight of stairs. Our breakfast room is warm and inviting and we provide a full, freshly cooked English breakfast with eggs cooked to your requirements alongside the other menu options. We have limited off street parking in a narrow driveway at the side of the house, you will be able to forget your car then and walk to all the amenities! We can however try to arrange more parking if necessary. Free wifi is available in the public rooms and most bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monkgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkgate Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing