We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monkgate Guest House
Ranked #68 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn
1 review
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I work in York every week and stay over in the Monkgate Guest house regulaly.
The rooms are clean and induvidualised, which is a very good touch.
The prices are cheap and affordable which is what you need in this state of austerity, and the owners are very friendly indeed and make you're stay truely an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slucas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    37
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
55
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Only stayed one night (thankfully). Accommodation seemed tired and in need of a modern touch. To be fair it was clean but lacked the cosy, personal touch. The teddy bears along with everything else had seen better days. The rooms to the front of the guesthouse face a very busy and noisy (with traffic) junction. Guests are very much segregated from the private accommodation...rather "them and us"!
The mattress on the bed we had was very soft.
Within walking distance of York City Centre. Lane parking very tight.
I would not choose to return sadly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emeralda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I Work in York and stay at this Guest House a couple of times a week, it is always very clean and tidy the rooms are very cosy and warm, william and Jane are fantastic and nothing is to much trouble, they go out of there way to make sure that your stay here is the best, very near the town and all the restaurants,i would recomend the Monkgate to anyone and Guarantee a very relaxing stay.
The Breakfast is the best i have had in any hotel. i look forward to spending a lot more nights here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

My daughter and I stayed for three nights and the owners William and Jane made us feel so at home. The rooms were spotless and the bathroom was exceptionally clean. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the location is excellent. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed in the family room for three nights and it was a delight. The children had their own single beds seperated from us with a door, which gave us (and them) some respite!! Both rooms were very clean and very comfortably decorated. The children were very taken with all the teddy bears. Breakfast was delicious and served promptly. The location was great as it was close enough for us to walk into the centre ( 10 minutes even with a toddler dragging her feet!) but just outside the walls so as to be peaceful and quiet. All in all a very comfortable stay. Thank you to our lovely hosts, Jane and William. We WILL be back. See you next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shereen_smilewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our stay in York was very nice, but it was made even nicer by our stay at the monkgate guest house. Jane and William were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, help with getting around York, showing us where to visit etc.
The room was very pleasant, beds were really comfortable and all was very clean.
Location was very close to city centre which was nice.
Although we never came by car, the only thing if we did would have been the parking, but all in all the stay was BRILLIANT!!
Thank you, Jane and William.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bopsiwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

the rooms we stayed in needed decorating, a good hoovering and dusting , especially the dusty teddy bears. The damp problem in the bathroom needs treating rather than just painting over . We found a live earwig in one of the beds and a slug in the bathroom the second night . The only good thing about the guest house was the breakfast and the location . We would not stay again .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#46 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cavalier
The Cavalier
#82 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#36 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
York House
York House
#62 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#33 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkgate Guest House

Property: Monkgate Guest House
Address: 65 Monkgate, York YO31 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkgate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkgate Guest House is 200 years old and is only five minutes walk from York Minster and the city centre where you will find beautiful shops and restaurants and all York's attractions close to hand. The property was originally three Georgian cottages so it is cosy and rambling with the quaint features you would expect from an older property. We have two rooms on the ground floor and the other rooms are on the first floor accessed by a flight of stairs. Our breakfast room is warm and inviting and we provide a full, freshly cooked English breakfast with eggs cooked to your requirements alongside the other menu options. We have limited off street parking in a narrow driveway at the side of the house, you will be able to forget your car then and walk to all the amenities! We can however try to arrange more parking if necessary. Free wifi is available in the public rooms and most bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monkgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkgate Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing