We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monkgate Guest House
Ranked #66 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“home from home”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Just returned from york and our stay at monkgate guesthouse,What a little gem,lovely cosy clean room,owners william and jane very welcoming,we found the breakfast very tasty,we would definately recommend it,cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    38
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
56
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Saxtons River, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Nine years ago I spent two weeks in York and had a very pleasant stay at the Monkgate. When planning my recent return to York, I was happy to discover that Jane and William still own this lovely guest house. I had a comfortable single room at the back of the house, with ensuite shower. The bed was very comfortable as was the down-filled duvet. I spent more time that usual in my room, as I had a dreadful cold, so I was especially happy that the room was cozy and had a large flat screen TV. Jane and William are friendly and gracious hosts; they provide many choices for breakfast, which William prepares to order. The location is particularly good, as the house is within walking distance of a large supermarket and of course the Minster and the city center. When I plan a return to York, I will definitely plan on booking into the Monkgate.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Jane & William went out of their way to help us when we had significant difficulties with our rental car. They also made sure we could park our car safely off street for as long as we needed.
The location was excellent, within easy walking distance of the Minster, museum and many sights.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyngardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I work in York every week and stay over in the Monkgate Guest house regulaly.
The rooms are clean and induvidualised, which is a very good touch.
The prices are cheap and affordable which is what you need in this state of austerity, and the owners are very friendly indeed and make you're stay truely an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slucas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Only stayed one night (thankfully). Accommodation seemed tired and in need of a modern touch. To be fair it was clean but lacked the cosy, personal touch. The teddy bears along with everything else had seen better days. The rooms to the front of the guesthouse face a very busy and noisy (with traffic) junction. Guests are very much segregated from the private accommodation...rather "them and us"!
The mattress on the bed we had was very soft.
Within walking distance of York City Centre. Lane parking very tight.
I would not choose to return sadly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emeralda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I Work in York and stay at this Guest House a couple of times a week, it is always very clean and tidy the rooms are very cosy and warm, william and Jane are fantastic and nothing is to much trouble, they go out of there way to make sure that your stay here is the best, very near the town and all the restaurants,i would recomend the Monkgate to anyone and Guarantee a very relaxing stay.
The Breakfast is the best i have had in any hotel. i look forward to spending a lot more nights here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

My daughter and I stayed for three nights and the owners William and Jane made us feel so at home. The rooms were spotless and the bathroom was exceptionally clean. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the location is excellent. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#44 of 192 in York
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
York House
York House
#68 of 192 in York
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#45 of 192 in York
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#123 of 192 in York
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkgate Guest House

Property: Monkgate Guest House
Address: 65 Monkgate, York YO31 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkgate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkgate Guest House is 200 years old and is only five minutes walk from York Minster and the city centre where you will find beautiful shops and restaurants and all York's attractions close to hand. The property was originally three Georgian cottages so it is cosy and rambling with the quaint features you would expect from an older property. We have two rooms on the ground floor and the other rooms are on the first floor accessed by a flight of stairs. Our breakfast room is warm and inviting and we provide a full, freshly cooked English breakfast with eggs cooked to your requirements alongside the other menu options. We have limited off street parking in a narrow driveway at the side of the house, you will be able to forget your car then and walk to all the amenities! We can however try to arrange more parking if necessary. Free wifi is available in the public rooms and most bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monkgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkgate Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing