We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fourposter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fourposter Lodge
Ranked #95 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor value for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Small pokey rooms- uncomfortable beds. Location is ok but on the student accom side of town

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueygrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourposter1, Owner at Fourposter Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Every room can be seen on our website through pictures and a virtual tour. Ever room is different please look and see. All mattresses are of a quality make and are regularly replaced .It is difficult to respond to this review as it generalizes but we are sorry that if you did stop with us you found your room was not what you expected we do hope that if there is a problem with a room, guests would inform us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    37
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
60
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. It's a great location with a free car park that meant once we got there, we could leave the car safe and secure and with a 5-10 minute walk, we were in the city centre. Bed was comfy the only bugbare was the telly was too small. Breakfast was really good too.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank ChrisK186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This guesthouse was one of the worst I have ever been in. It was really dirty, I found a massive hairball on the floor, and dust and spiderwebs all over the ceiling. When we arrived, the landlady did not show us our room, and when we got to the room, the shower was actually in the bedroom instead of in a bathroom. There was no soap, and no hot water. The bed was a joke: a fake fourposter - rickety and extremely uncomfortable. I hurt all over in the mornings. And the decor badly needs an upgrade throughout the house.
In the morning I had to get to a conference at he University quite early, so was downstairs for 8 am. I wasn't looking for a cooked breakfast - I was going to help myself to some cereal which would have been plenty, but someone else was there already having full breakfast so I sat down. The host came out of the kitchen and made a fuss that i was there: "you're too early, we don't serve breakfast until 8.30" and without waiting for my reply went back into the kitchen to yell at her daughter that "they are all coming downstairs at once, come help." I felt unwelcome and guilty without being able to defend myself. She also asked to pay upfront instead of at the end of the stay.
The location is great though: it is easy to get to from that train station (on bus 4 to the Uni and get off at the second stop on Heslington Road) and very conveniently located between the university and the city centre. York is gorgeous, and I'll go back there, but would never stay in Fourposter Lodge again - it was absolutely filthy and overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Stefanievdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourposter1, Owner at Fourposter Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
We are sorry to read your review it has come as a great shock after reviewing so many positive comments.
The room you stayed in does show the shower is situated in the bedroom which you will have seen when you booked online. The rooms are checked by the Quality in Tourism and they seem very happy with the standard of hygiene and cleanliness as this is a factor of ratings.
I am very dissappointed you found me unwelcoming as I do strive to make people feel at home as stated in other review's I obviously said or did something to upset you, may be it was the breakfast issue? Breakfast is served as stated in the rooms between 8.30am and 9.30am. However we do offer early breakfasts on request. If you had approached me about this the day before it would not have been a problem at all and may be all this could have been avoided. As explained at the time i only ask people to pay if they are leaving early on Sunday morning due to it been a very busy time, however this did not apply to you and when you did pay on leaving we were chatting and all seemed fine.
We do wish you had voiced your issues during your 2 night stay giving us a chance to rectify any problems.
We too find this review very dissappointing as we do endeavor to offer a clean comfortable and pleasent stay for all our guests.
Yours faithfully.
Mrs Shirley Jackson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

A great find. small homley b&b close to town centre & university nice staff nice breakfast private parking .Clean and well priced rooms have 4 poster beds this makes it something different

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Loved our stay at the four poster lodge. Lovely family run bed and breakfast that is only a 5 minute walk from York town centre. Comfy beds and great breakfast so couldn't really ask for a lot more. Will defiantly be going back for early Christmas shopping again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Glenkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pertenhall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We were visiting our daughter for the weekend and used this as a base. It gave us good accommodation and friendly service while allowing us to be independent. It is about 15 minutes walk from both the University and city and is quiet despite being on a main road. Breakfast was good, even if, perhaps, the produce was not quite top quality. Room was a good size - we wre in room 6 - and comfortable

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PertenhallSteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here for one night. It's a B&B that is small but very homey. The breakfast in the morning was great. The room itself was a little weird, but I guess pretty standard for a B&B. Unfortunately you could hear and smell everything. When someone had a nasty case of the runs, our room just wreaked! It was unbearable. The internet was not working while we were there. For the condition/look of it, the price was a little pricey. It could use a bit of a makeover! We were able to walk right into the walled city and even to the train station. It's in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank heartz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourposter1, Owner at Fourposter Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
We did in August find that we had a collapsed sewage drain pipe causing major problems to our pluming system we do apologise to you your overnight stay must have been awful. We were closed while the pipe was replaced this gave us time to revamp rooms decor and carpets. We have now changed our internet server too hopefully a more reliable provider as we offer all guest free internet access during there stay (so far they have not let us down) We do hope that if you are ever back in York you will visit us to view changes to the rooms and maybe even stop a night [ with our compliments]. We wish had mentioned the problem during your visit. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and found our location handy for York. We are a family ran business of now over 30 years we are really pleased that in spite of everything you still found us homey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#38 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.8 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#78 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waggon & Horses
Waggon & Horses
#36 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourposter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourposter Lodge

Property: Fourposter Lodge
Address: 68-70 Heslington Road, York YO10 5AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fourposter Lodge - we are a small family run accommodation provider. Situated only 10 minutes walk to York's beautiful historic city centre and also 10 minutes to York University. All rooms offer four poster beds at a price you can afford. We look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fourposter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing