We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fourposter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fourposter Lodge
Ranked #93 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Very well located for our purposes, nice old house not too heavily restored or tacky. The four poster thing is a bit of a gimmick but our room was decently furnished. Decent welcome and we squeezed our car in at the back. No breakfast until 8.15 if that matters to you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdrianG914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    37
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
60
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I am regular visitor to the Four Poster on trips to work at the University.

The house is a rather grand building with high ceilings and wonderful turn of the previous century features.

The rooms have a lovely character and are spacious. Beds are comfy, there is a tv in each room and free wifi.

The bathrooms are snug but do the job very well and I much prefer the extra space in the rooms.

Breakfast is delicious (poached eggs are done brilliantly) and served with a smile.

I would heartily recommend the Four Poster for anyone looking for something different and memorable with warm and friendly service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I booked room 2 for a 1 night stay for my wife and myself. I thought fourposter would be ideal romantic room.How disappointed were we.The place was filthy,the curtains on the bed were dirty white,there was dust on top of the bed, and you could write your name on the top of the wqardrobe. The washbasin and shower were also in the same room, and the toilet was like a cupboard. The décor appeared to be painted lining paper and the sofa in the lounge has seen better days. What was advertised as a hearty breakfast was ok if you only eat small meals, and certainly didn,t hit the spot.Everything about this place is dated,our tv must have ben 10 yrs old at least.Glad I only booked the one night, as I certainly wouldn,t stay here again.

Room Tip: Don,t bother and look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourposter1, Manager at Fourposter Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I am sorry your expectations were not met at the Fourposter Lodge. It has unset me a great deal as I do strive to make everyones stay as enjoyable as possible as stated in many other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is just nice B&B value for money, very warm welcome rooms are clean need a bit up dateing, The parking lets it down not much of it we stayed in room 7 very nosiey because its right next to front door so you heard everybody coming and going. has another person put on its very student oriented in this area. but York its self was amazing people are very friendly

Room Tip: higher floor maybe quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourposter1, Owner at Fourposter Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your comments.
It was very nice to meet you and you will be pleased to know work starts next month on the Fourposter update. Unfortunately there is not much I can do about the parking as space is limited.
I'm Glad you enjoyed York we are very proud of our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked room 8 (family room) for myself and my wife and two young sons to celebrate my 40th birthday, we did not want anything too 'flash', just somewhere to sleep and serve us breakfast! The photos do not do the rooms justice as they are not penthouse size but sufficient for a family without being too pokey! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the helpful and friendliness of the staff towards myself but particularly to my children was excellent - they were not 'brushed off' but spoken to very well. We would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in York but not wanting the noise from the city centre (15 minute walk away).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshire567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked a night at Fourposter Lodge for a night, we were greeted by a very friendly owner Shirley, the room was excellent a very comfy four poster bed which is just what we needed after a very long day getting my niece into York hospital for an overnight stay, very clean, on going down to breakfast we were greeted by Shirley and her friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was very good a choice of fruit juice, then a choice of cereal, then a full English breakfast, there were alternatives if you wanted, toast and jams and marmalade, after a very tasty and very filling breakfast we vacated are room handed our keys in and Shirley was very willing to talk, nothing was to much trouble, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for four nights while on business in York. I rarely stay in Bed and Breakfasts so have very little to compare this with. My room was nice and the bed very comfortable. There were a couple of choices for breakfast. I opted for the full English breakfast which was very tasty and filling. The young lady who served us breakfast was very pleasant and cheerful, which was nice. The lodge is on a quiet street about a 15 minute walk from the city center. If you prefer not to walk there is a very convenient city bus that stops near the lodge. Overall a good experience and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeogProfOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cavalier
The Cavalier
#81 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#36 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#75 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.2 mi away
Waggon & Horses
Waggon & Horses
#34 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourposter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourposter Lodge

Property: Fourposter Lodge
Address: 68-70 Heslington Road, York YO10 5AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fourposter Lodge - we are a small family run accommodation provider. Situated only 10 minutes walk to York's beautiful historic city centre and also 10 minutes to York University. All rooms offer four poster beds at a price you can afford. We look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fourposter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing