We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily the best in the station!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ugot

Ugot
Ranked #361 of 850 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout
Description: ÜGOT offers a contemporary take on the word's grab and go. Born out of frustration at the lack of healthy food eateries on the high street. I am trying a revolutionize consumer perception on the way healthy food on the move is served by making it both fun and accessible.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easily the best in the station!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I'm not the kind of person that writes reviews, but this place needs a shout out!! Stumbled across this little gem commuting to work. Wow!! Everything is great!!! Creamy fruity porridge, perfect coffee, big salads, great hot dishes, amazing wraps and sandwiches, cold pressed juice, the list is endless!! So healthy as well. Plenty for celiacs, veggies, meaties!!
The staff are just AMAZING! So helpful and cheery, (even at 6am) And they do frozen yoghurt (which is so hard to get where I live) For what you get the price is very reasonable!!
Love this place and now I'm a breakfast and lunch regular!!
Would strongly recommend!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshistarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“At Last food food at York Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

All food at railway stations is dreadful till now. Honestly this place is fantastic. for years I've travelled to Leeds from York station and wanted something well priced but fresh as well as high quality and this is it.

Its on platform 3 (you cant miss it)

Only thing is the coffee is that York Coffee Emporium and I find it rather bland, thats the only thing i'd change

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Position and food fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stumbled upon this little gem on a recent trip to York Station, oh my god its brilliant, simple uncomplicated food that doesn't resemble a burger or a pasty.

Porridge through to Pho Chicken and Banana and Chocolate Muffins to die for.

Friendly member of staff and locally bought (Yorkshire Coffee) drinks. The rest of the establishments should be worried as this is a brilliant concept and friendly to boot. For a change it was a place where the person cares about the brand, the food and the customer. (Strange that EH!)

Miss this place at your peril.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Imp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heslington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over-priced ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I stopped at this place when changing trains - I genuinely love the concept but quickly lost my enthusiasm when I saw the prices!

They were charging £5.99 for a small fruit smoothie no bigger than the ones offered at Filmore & Union (across the tracks) for double the price. Vita Coco for £2.95 is also a joke when it's £1 in Waitrose! Come on gents, stop being greedy and offer York station something good...and reasonably priced.

Helpful?
2 Thank congocraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Owner at Ugot, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the juices. There are several reasons why the juice prices are that price.

1. The process used to make the juices is a process called cold pressing. The process involves masticating then pressing the fruit in small batches ensuring all the nutrients & enzymes are kept in the juice. As this is an extremely labour intensive job, taking roughly 4 hours to make 40 juices this has an effect on the price.

2. The ingredients used are of the highest quality as this effects the juice quality - something we are not willing to compromise on. Therefore adding to the cost.

3. The juices are in a 500ml bottle - nearly twice the size of the ones over the tracks at Filmore & Union therefore adding to the cost of the juice.

4. Our Coldpress juices are comparatively well priced in relation to other brands charging anywhere between £6-15 per juice & are significantly better for you then a normal smoothie/juice made from a centrifugal juicer or even pasteurised.

I hope you can see that a lot of thought has gone in behind the juices and as a new brand we are still working on educating the consumer on the benefits of these juices. Branded as the "Purest juices" on the planet.

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stopped at ÜGOT for breakfast on Valentines weekend. We opted for porridge based on countless recommendations from friends and work colleagues. The porridge was creamy, hot and came with mountains of delicious toppings including strawberries, blueberries and honey!

We have also heard that their beetroot soup for lunch and the thai green chicken curry for dinner are bucket list items!

Great food, great staff and a welcome addition to York!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ugot also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ugot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing