We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cosy rooms and a REAL fire!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gillygate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gillygate
Ranked #42 of 206 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy rooms and a REAL fire!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

My most favourite pub in York. We always stay here if we can get in, the rooms are clean and cosy. The food is gorgeous, proper homemade pub grub, and the bar always has a real fire in the winter. You could easily spend the day here with your papers, in front of the fire with a nice glass of wine!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vintagequeen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    97
    36
    23
    13
See reviews for
39
180
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed the one night in room 6 up in the attic. Had to climb over laundry and linen bags to get into our room.
It needed a good clean and sort out (wardrobe door falling off). Dusty dirty television top and surfaces. A lot of traffic noise and drunken passers by, even the dustbin lorry arrived at 4.50 a.m. outside our window.
The staff were friendly, but a disappointing breakfast ( one teapot between four of us, hardly anY choice of cereals and a miserable microwave so called "Full English"
WOULD NOT RETURN.

Room Tip: Go to the Premier Inn instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjstrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed one night on our way from Scotland to Kent. Fantastic hotel! When we arrived the barman was very helpful (even asked if we needed help to bring our bags in from car), showed us to our rooms and was a great host throughout the night. Location is excellent, very close to city centre, food was great and rooms were comfortable, clean and adequate.
Only negative comment was that as we stayed on a Friday night pub clientele were very noisy until about 3am. (but this was to be expected staying in a pub) Would definiltely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Fl.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We did not stay at the Gillygate Inn but stumbled upon it looking for supper. We had supper and stayed almost to closing time, it has to be the friendliest pub in York! We had a great time, superb meal (crab cakes and Yorkshire pudding), excellent service, great entertainment (karaoke), fabulous drinks, nice dancing, and a pub full of "regulars". We definitely will be staying here on our next visit. Sheryl's crab cakes have a nice "kick" to them.

Larry and Noreen
Florida, USA

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were having dinner and drinks at the Gillygate after a fabulous day of shopping and sightseeing in York when we were invited to attend a wedding that was being held at the pub!!!!! The most amazing people we did meet. The wedding was held at the back of the pub and the staff (especially COLIN) the bar attendant was a brilliantly funny young man. All the staff were very special. Dinner was a BBQ. We had the very best time at the Gilly!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

You will be hard pushed to find better value accommodation in the centre of York. The room I stopped in (Room 1) was very large with all the facilities that a decent hotel offers such as trouser press, hair drier, coffee and tea, shower and bathing products and very comfortable beds.

The only downside to the Gillygate is that the ‘microwaved’ breakfast is served very early between 8-9 which is far too early if you are on vacation, my tip is to try the outstanding Café No 8 which is just a down the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mackyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Booked in by a friend in York......Unfortunatly for us the place has just changed hands and accomodation was not a priority.Sharefd a twin room for what should have been 3 nights .On our return on the 2nd day we found the room just as it had been left that morning...........when enlightened to this the staff were apologetic but made no effort to help.We cut short our stay.Food ok beers excellent ,price of £75 pn was a joke.They might try in future >BEFORE YOU STAY CHECK THE ROOMS>even if made up they are in desperate need of attention.Not a good advert for B&B in York

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#36 of 206 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#28 of 206 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 206 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#14 of 206 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gillygate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gillygate

Property: The Gillygate
Address: 48 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gillygate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gillygate is a newly refurbished 'pub with rooms' just a stones throw from York city centre we are in the perfect position for you to explore this beautiful city. Our aim is simple, to make everyone's stay with us as memorable and hassle free as possible. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and downstairs in the pub you will find a great mix of locals and visitors enjoying themselves over a drink from our extensively stocked bar. We have twice weekly quizzes and visiting performers passing through from time to time. Guests can also enjoy an evening in our 'Whiskey Snug' and take advantage of our growing selection. If there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable just let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Gillygate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gillygate Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing