We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a one or two nights stay.”
Review of The Gillygate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gillygate
Ranked #45 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Booked here last minute for the Jubilee weekend and we were very grateful that they had one room left and were more then happy to take it as almost every hotel we tried was fully booked. The room we stayed in was big and spacious (probably not to everyone's taste but would be perfect for a group of friends or a family). Big bathroom with bath and shower, and also a big TV (not that we watched it really) but was nice for background noise whilst we were getting ready for the evening. Breakfast was pretty average which was a shame as we heard so much about it and its black pudding which wasn't included haha, however it was by no means bad. Staff were friendly and had no problems with the hotel all in all. Would recommend for a one or two nights stay in York.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeyJade90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just arrived home thank god! Worst place my husband and I have ever stayed. The place needs lots of money spending on it and it was dirty. The bed was clean and comfortable though. The shower was broken so you needed to hold it with one hand while you showered with the other. Breakfast was ok nothing special! Felt sorry for some canadian tourists who were staying there hope they dont think that all the hotels are like this one. Would not recomend this place to anyone! Could not wait to get out of the place.

Room Tip: look somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We booked family room (1 double & 1 single bed). Arrived to find only a double bed in the room & asked that this be rectified. Hotel decided to put in a foldaway bed instead of a proper bed even though I asked specifically beforehand that it was to be a normal bed. Had to head out again while they had to change the bed again. Initially no running water in the room when we first checked in (they'd had flooding a couple days before) and had to ask them to turn this on. Finally had the beds we'd booked and paid for. Came down to breakfast at 9:10am to find no one in the dining room but used plates, etc. Waited around 25 min before someone finally came in & were told breakfast was 8-9am (which we'd never been told). We managed to get some coffee and toast/egg. Were told there was karaoke that night which was right below our room (Room 2) which goes until 1am and it very loud. He asked if we wanted it to be turned off at 12am instead they could do that, so we agreed this would be best as it was my birthday the next day and we'd hired a car & I'd be doing a fair bit of driving. That night we had a knock on our door at 11:40 asking if they could go till 1am anyway because the pub was quite busy & we said no, we'd prefer to stick to what we'd agreed. They carried on till 1am anyway and the noise was so loud the floor shook in our room & we couldn't hear ourselves speak to each other. I went down to complain shortly after midnight & the response from the owner when I said we should have a refund for this horrendous stay was 'where are you going to sleep tonight then?'. He was rude, unapologetic, very drunk and refusing to be reasonable. He eventually told his staff to find us somewhere else to stay and get us out (at 1am!) and walked off. Luckily a staff member arranged a refund for us but I had nearly no sleep at all that night due to noise and being completely upset at the way we were treated. We found somewhere else to stay for the final night which was really lovely. Owner clearly doesn't care about the B&B side of the business and you're treated more like you're an annoyance than a guest. I've never been treated like this anywhere I've stayed in many years of travel. AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE.

Room Tip: Tip to get a good room: BOOK ELSEWHERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Gillygate, we found the rooms clean, the food is excellent, the breakfast was out of this world so tasty. We had one of our evening meals at the pub and the steak was one of the best we have ever tasted. All the attractions you need are within walking distance and made the stay even more pleasurable. I can't get over the negative reviews as we only paid £50 per room per night for the 2 of us this included breakfast, yes its not the Ritz but we didn't pay Ritz prices, the welcome is warm and friendly and we will be staying again.
Very Happy Couple :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a tuesday night and this is apparently 'karaoke' night at the pub. I expected some noise as obviously it is a pub aswell as an hotel, however the music and DJ (and also awful singing) continued until 1.20am. This resulted in getting very little sleep. In addition to this we were in room 6 and this faces onto the street, this meant we could hear road traffic, arguments in the street and also the removal of rubbish. This meant we were woken early too. Therefore sleep quality was poor. However the room was of a large size and there was lots of space for luggage etc and it is in an ideal location for attractions. Although you may struggle parking behind the hotel as there are very few spaces.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at the Gillygate in June and i was very let down from the very beginning. They had over booked and could not provide an evening meal for our party of guests. The room was of average size but was unclean and the shower was mouldy. The staff were rude at breakfast and as they let their car park out we were blocked in by 6 cars. We had no apology for this inconvenience as we waited 25 minutes for someone to move the cars out of the way. Costing 75 pounds I didn’t expect the Hilton but i certainly expected better this i would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

stayed at the gillygate for a weekend, a warm welcome awaits you from the manager, the rooms are very big and bright with lots of space to hang your clothes, there is a kettle tea and coffee in the room as well as a tv. the bathroom is massive and the shower was great, the rooms are very clean and are to a high standard... down stair is a lovely pub with amazing food try the gammon it was the best i had tasted... my husband and myself where going to walk into town centre for a drink or 2 but because of the warm welcome we received in this pub we decided to stay in the pub and enjoy the relaxed surroundings, the breakfast the next morning was amazing... i would say to anyone looking for a place to stay in york that is a stone throw away from york centre to book the Gillygate, oh did i say out of the hotel we have stayed in we had the best nights sleep in a long time this was due to the amazing comfortably beds

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannebet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
0 mi away
Gillygate Guest House
Gillygate Guest House
#63 of 195 in York
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 195 in York
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#12 of 195 in York
258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose & Crown
Rose & Crown
#30 of 195 in York
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gillygate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gillygate

Address: 48 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £88 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gillygate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gillygate is a newly refurbished 'pub with rooms' just a stones throw from York city centre we are in the perfect position for you to explore this beautiful city. Our aim is simple, to make everyone's stay with us as memorable and hassle free as possible. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and downstairs in the pub you will find a great mix of locals and visitors enjoying themselves over a drink from our extensively stocked bar. We have twice weekly quizzes and visiting performers passing through from time to time. Guests can also enjoy an evening in our 'Whiskey Snug' and take advantage of our growing selection. If there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable just let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gillygate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gillygate Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing