We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We very much enjoyed our stay - but would consider other options next time”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gillygate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gillygate
Ranked #43 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
366 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“We very much enjoyed our stay - but would consider other options next time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here whilst in York for slightly esoteric reasons - playing the organ and singing for the seven weekly services at York Minster - and saw it on a previous visit. It is conveniently located, five minutes walk from the Minster, parking is included, and the price including breakfast and parking was good value when I researched it online. We booked in February for our stay in August.

In between booking and staying, we had read reviews on here, which seem very mixed, and so arrived with a degree of trepidation, all the moreso because the previous night had been spent in a fine Holiday Inn in Manchester.

We arrived and, having sent a scouting party into the hotel first to find out, found the car park and managed to get the large space. We had deliberately brought the smaller of our two cars, and the entrance to the car park is reasonably narrow, although not too narrow for large vans to get in for deliveries, so we needn't have worried on that score.

First impressions, once inside, were accurate summaries of the week to come: extremely helpful and friendly staff, and impeccable cleanliness. Having arrived 30 minutes or so too early to check in, we decided to have a bite to eat and a drink, and so sampled lunch and a real ale. Lunch was excellent, large portions, tasty, and quickly served.

Come 2pm, we were shown to our room - a pleasant personal touch compared with the various full service hotels in which we had stayed in the previous two weeks. It was room 2, which overlooks the road, and was large with a small en-suite bathroom. The room was pleasantly decorated, furnished and furbished, and was again very clean. The bathroom was small, had no lock or ventilation, but did the job adequately.

There was noise from the road, which was busy during the day, but much less so at night. However, as the room was directly above the pub, there was also noise from the pub. We got used to it as the week went on, but found it impossible to sleep on the first night until the music had stopped. The second night, Tuesday, was karaoke night - which we had been warned about on check-in. We had been told that it finished at midnight. In fact, it was shortly after 12.30am when the music stopped, and we could go to sleep.

Breakfast throughout the week was excellent - good size portions, a selection of cereals and juices, and a full English which was cooked to order, and was very tasty.

Throughout the week, every single member of staff was courteous, helpful and demonstrated exemplary customer service.

If staying again, we would certainly consider staying here again, but we would also look at other options. If it wasn't for the noise, we would be much more likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    109
    36
    25
    17
See reviews for
43
207
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We called in to this attractive old style pub when the restaurant we headed to nearby was closed. The food we had was excellent, well cooked, well served and great value. We didn't stay at the hotel but thought that if the rooms were as good as the food we should have.
If you want somewhere unpretentious to eat a good meal in York try this.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exmember11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Fantastic location just 2 min walk to York Minster and town centre. We stayed in double room which was cosy and clean and quiet even though faced onto street. Breakfast was lovely, full cooked English with fruit juices, cereals and toast. Pub was quiet and didnt cause any noise interference. Outside seating area is a sun trap and there are parasols if needed. Car parking is excellent as no need to worry about parking. Staff are friendly and offered us a small map to help us find our way around York.

The rates are very good and you wouldnt find anywhere cheaper or better for location and value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnMcGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was a last minue booking for a little break away from rain! but it was still raining in York. However this place was really welcoming, good location not more than five mins walk to the minster- came back to enjoy a great meal but the main plus point is the staff - the geordie manager was very welcoming and helped give us a little history to the area.

would i stay here again - i probably would for somewhere to get away for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brasso_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge
Level Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This pub was very friendly and clean, and I enjoyed my stay on balance. I think I got the last room which was not en suite, and my personal loo and bathroom were down the corridor. The room was small but clean. The pub had a disco night downstairs and my room was directly above that, so it was noisy until about 11.00pm. Evening meal was good, and the Breakfast was excellent though not available until 8.00am. Very cheap though and recommended for sight seeing the city. Parking was around tha back down an alley way a few doors down from the hotel itself, which is on a narrow but busy thoroughfare.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
são paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I was surprised by the quality of the hotel (considering it was not expensive at all!). It is really cute, clean and cosy. Nice bed, big room and amazing full english breakfast (much better than other breakfasts we paid for). We were even sad about not staying any longer in york.
The only thing that could be improved is the noise (the hotel is also a restaurant / pub).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Booked here last minute for the Jubilee weekend and we were very grateful that they had one room left and were more then happy to take it as almost every hotel we tried was fully booked. The room we stayed in was big and spacious (probably not to everyone's taste but would be perfect for a group of friends or a family). Big bathroom with bath and shower, and also a big TV (not that we watched it really) but was nice for background noise whilst we were getting ready for the evening. Breakfast was pretty average which was a shame as we heard so much about it and its black pudding which wasn't included haha, however it was by no means bad. Staff were friendly and had no problems with the hotel all in all. Would recommend for a one or two nights stay in York.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyJade90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Gillygate Guest House
Gillygate Guest House
#51 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#35 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gillygate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gillygate

Property: The Gillygate
Address: 48 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gillygate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gillygate is a newly refurbished 'pub with rooms' just a stones throw from York city centre we are in the perfect position for you to explore this beautiful city. Our aim is simple, to make everyone's stay with us as memorable and hassle free as possible. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and downstairs in the pub you will find a great mix of locals and visitors enjoying themselves over a drink from our extensively stocked bar. We have twice weekly quizzes and visiting performers passing through from time to time. Guests can also enjoy an evening in our 'Whiskey Snug' and take advantage of our growing selection. If there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable just let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gillygate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gillygate Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing