We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So handy for the centre of york”
Review of The Gillygate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gillygate
Ranked #46 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Great little pub/hotel. Free parking around the back. 5 minutes walk to the minster. Rooms quite big, comfortable bed, clean, tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast in the morning great. We had a room at the front and you can hear some noise from traffic through the night. We also stayed on a tuesday night which is kareoke night, but we had had a night in york and then just had a last drink when the kareoke was finishing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back wont be next to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnttours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have just had a one night stay at the Gillygate and we were most impressed! There were 4 of us staying to celebrate our friends 50th Birthday with a meal in York, and after returning back to the hotel we were met by the owner/manager and invited into the bar for a few "night caps"! It really ended off a great evening and was much appreciated. Next time we want a stay in York we wouldn't look any further than the Gillygate, Thank you for your hospitality big fella and the Wild Boar burgers were fantastic!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 was ok for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredflintstoneHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here whilst in York for slightly esoteric reasons - playing the organ and singing for the seven weekly services at York Minster - and saw it on a previous visit. It is conveniently located, five minutes walk from the Minster, parking is included, and the price including breakfast and parking was good value when I researched it online. We booked in February for our stay in August.

In between booking and staying, we had read reviews on here, which seem very mixed, and so arrived with a degree of trepidation, all the moreso because the previous night had been spent in a fine Holiday Inn in Manchester.

We arrived and, having sent a scouting party into the hotel first to find out, found the car park and managed to get the large space. We had deliberately brought the smaller of our two cars, and the entrance to the car park is reasonably narrow, although not too narrow for large vans to get in for deliveries, so we needn't have worried on that score.

First impressions, once inside, were accurate summaries of the week to come: extremely helpful and friendly staff, and impeccable cleanliness. Having arrived 30 minutes or so too early to check in, we decided to have a bite to eat and a drink, and so sampled lunch and a real ale. Lunch was excellent, large portions, tasty, and quickly served.

Come 2pm, we were shown to our room - a pleasant personal touch compared with the various full service hotels in which we had stayed in the previous two weeks. It was room 2, which overlooks the road, and was large with a small en-suite bathroom. The room was pleasantly decorated, furnished and furbished, and was again very clean. The bathroom was small, had no lock or ventilation, but did the job adequately.

There was noise from the road, which was busy during the day, but much less so at night. However, as the room was directly above the pub, there was also noise from the pub. We got used to it as the week went on, but found it impossible to sleep on the first night until the music had stopped. The second night, Tuesday, was karaoke night - which we had been warned about on check-in. We had been told that it finished at midnight. In fact, it was shortly after 12.30am when the music stopped, and we could go to sleep.

Breakfast throughout the week was excellent - good size portions, a selection of cereals and juices, and a full English which was cooked to order, and was very tasty.

Throughout the week, every single member of staff was courteous, helpful and demonstrated exemplary customer service.

If staying again, we would certainly consider staying here again, but we would also look at other options. If it wasn't for the noise, we would be much more likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We called in to this attractive old style pub when the restaurant we headed to nearby was closed. The food we had was excellent, well cooked, well served and great value. We didn't stay at the hotel but thought that if the rooms were as good as the food we should have.
If you want somewhere unpretentious to eat a good meal in York try this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank exmember11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Fantastic location just 2 min walk to York Minster and town centre. We stayed in double room which was cosy and clean and quiet even though faced onto street. Breakfast was lovely, full cooked English with fruit juices, cereals and toast. Pub was quiet and didnt cause any noise interference. Outside seating area is a sun trap and there are parasols if needed. Car parking is excellent as no need to worry about parking. Staff are friendly and offered us a small map to help us find our way around York.

The rates are very good and you wouldnt find anywhere cheaper or better for location and value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnMcGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was a last minue booking for a little break away from rain! but it was still raining in York. However this place was really welcoming, good location not more than five mins walk to the minster- came back to enjoy a great meal but the main plus point is the staff - the geordie manager was very welcoming and helped give us a little history to the area.

would i stay here again - i probably would for somewhere to get away for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brasso_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This pub was very friendly and clean, and I enjoyed my stay on balance. I think I got the last room which was not en suite, and my personal loo and bathroom were down the corridor. The room was small but clean. The pub had a disco night downstairs and my room was directly above that, so it was noisy until about 11.00pm. Evening meal was good, and the Breakfast was excellent though not available until 8.00am. Very cheap though and recommended for sight seeing the city. Parking was around tha back down an alley way a few doors down from the hotel itself, which is on a narrow but busy thoroughfare.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gillygate Guest House
Gillygate Guest House
#61 of 194 in York
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Burton Stone Inn
Burton Stone Inn
#21 of 194 in York
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 194 in York
1,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 194 in York
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gillygate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gillygate

Address: 48 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £87 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gillygate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gillygate is a newly refurbished 'pub with rooms' just a stones throw from York city centre we are in the perfect position for you to explore this beautiful city. Our aim is simple, to make everyone's stay with us as memorable and hassle free as possible. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and downstairs in the pub you will find a great mix of locals and visitors enjoying themselves over a drink from our extensively stocked bar. We have twice weekly quizzes and visiting performers passing through from time to time. Guests can also enjoy an evening in our 'Whiskey Snug' and take advantage of our growing selection. If there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable just let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gillygate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gillygate Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing