We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed impressions”
Review of The Gillygate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gillygate
Ranked #46 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have a series of contrasting memories of The Gillygate; indeed it is an odd mixture of friendly, convenient and tatty. There is a car park behind the pub, just a few minutes' walk from York Minster, the City Walls and many good eating places. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, and our cases were instantly whisked to our room on the second floor. It was clean and comfortable with a small en-suite and plenty of wardrobe space. We were not disturbed by road noise, and breakfast next morning was very tasty and cheerily served.
That's the good news.
The pub itself is dingy and depressing beyond words; certainly not somewhere to linger. The climb from the back door took us over threadbare stair-carpets past walls and doors which had been strangers to the paintbrush for many years. While our room was in good order the outside windowsills were peeling down to the bare wood.
Perhaps the Gillygate has absentee owners, for it seems odd that such hospitable staff would not notice that the property which has so much going for it in many respects is in desperate need of a fundamental revamp.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Staff are helpful & friendly, however this does not camouflage the general overhaul which needs done to this very dated hotel/bar. If it wasn't for the location, this would be dead in water. Carpets changed, walls painted, walls knocked down, rooms re-designed the list is endless, but would reap dividends should this be done. There is also no food available which is very surprising & again a big loser for the proprietors. A very noisy place for sleep also but that comes with the territory.
Location is the main big plus being approx 300 mts from the minster & sadly that's all what this hotel/bar is about. Would be ok for a bag drop, eg stag, hen or lads weekend but avoid if possible.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitegold67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at the Gillygate for 4 nights out of the 5 we'd booked. Yes price great - breakfast good and comfy bed that's really all we can say. Needs major updating and rooms/en-suite incredibly small. Noise from the road outside sent us back to Scotland... Wouldn't recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel may need renovation but the girl who checked us in was as nice as can be. She even asked me if I needed help up the stairs with my luggage. My luggage is bigger than she is. I told her "No, thanks." She also cooked us a nice Irish breakfast when we got up. She couldn't have been nicer. Also, the location is great. The block itself is okay but it is just around the block from the York Minster. For the price of the room, it is an excellent value. There's no reason to spend three times the amount to spend the night somewhere else in York. You still see the same attractions anyway and the breakfast wouldn't be any better anyplace else. The bar downstairs is not the most welcoming, but there are plenty of places nearby to make up for it. The shops close early in this town so keep that it mind; even at the Shambles. Nevertheless, the hotel gives you exactly what you need; a place to stay at in York with a nice sized room , decent breakfast, and confortable bed, within walking distance of everything. It took only 15 minutes to walk to the train station. It's five minutes to the York Minster, at most. There is no lift, but in a hotel that resembles more like a B and B, that is typical anyway. Also, the stairs aren't steep. You need a code to get up to the rooms, so it's pretty safe. Once again, the young lady there (don't know her name) is a sweetheart and very accomodating. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel on the way back from a wedding. This was excellent value,the young lady who checked us in was very pleasant and still was when she served us breakfast in the morning. The beds are really comfortable and the hotel is ideally located. This is my husband first time to York he now loves it.£50 B&B in the city centre amazing I will highly recommend the Gillygte.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you want modern and special you need to go else where and pay double, here is clean , great service the staff couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast good request what we wanted and nothing was too much trouble, the only down side is shower unpredictable and rooms need a kick of paint and new carpets but as I say clean and comfy xx would visit again x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

stayed a night there ,great place,tidy ,welcoming staff ,close to the minster and the city attractions,nice beer.,in the heart of the city and part of the historical streets named with 'gate' after it ,,highly recommended,will go again definetely.

Room Tip: Good all over
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sargemneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gillygate Guest House
Gillygate Guest House
#61 of 194 in York
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Burton Stone Inn
Burton Stone Inn
#21 of 194 in York
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 194 in York
1,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 194 in York
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gillygate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gillygate

Address: 48 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £87 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gillygate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gillygate is a newly refurbished 'pub with rooms' just a stones throw from York city centre we are in the perfect position for you to explore this beautiful city. Our aim is simple, to make everyone's stay with us as memorable and hassle free as possible. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and downstairs in the pub you will find a great mix of locals and visitors enjoying themselves over a drink from our extensively stocked bar. We have twice weekly quizzes and visiting performers passing through from time to time. Guests can also enjoy an evening in our 'Whiskey Snug' and take advantage of our growing selection. If there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable just let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gillygate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gillygate Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing