We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gillygate Hotel York”
Review of The Gillygate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gillygate
Ranked #43 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cooling Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Gillygate Hotel York”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Hotel which is bang smack in the centre of York around the corner from York Minster & the Shambles. Room 2 which is facing to the front was on first impressions seemed to be OK. On visiting the on suite bathroom we were shocked to see mildew over the wall which was emanating a foul smell. The whole premises is looking tired & is in need of a full refurbishment. We did notice that there is a sign on the outside of this establishment, that the brewery owners are looking to let the pub hotel to new people. Whoever takes this on will need to put some TLC to bring it up to a good standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solybananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    111
    38
    25
    17
See reviews for
43
213
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here about 4 years ago and having a good experience we booked to come back. What a waste of money. I was very tempted to leave without paying. We stayed in room 6 at the top. The windows are single glazing and on the roadside. The road noise was dreadful all night long. The room was freezing and the central heating wasn't working. The bathroom was very small and not the cleanest. The ceiling covered in mold as there was no ventilation in there. The shower head was held up by an elastic band and went from freezing to scolding while showering. There wasn't anywhere to hang the handtowel or to dry the ones used for showering. One of the lamps in the bedroom had failed the PAT test and was still there for resident use.

Then we get on to staff and food. The staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. The breakfast was very limiting. The cereal choice wasn't very good. Orange juice was only available if requested and then a small glass given (not great when I don't drink tea and coffee). Asking for a jug of water was informed I could only have a glass as they don't have jugs. Cooked breakfast was all fried. Now we all enjoy a full English but there is no need to fry everything with the exception of beans. The toast was burnt and unlike where ever we have stayed before, we were not told that we could have more.

The icing on the cake was when we went to pay this morning. We were told the PDQ machine wasn't working and had to go to the cash point to withdraw the funds to pay. I was very tempted to not return. Fortunatly it is only a short walk into York but we will never go back here and would advise anybody else to look elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nikkib2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have a series of contrasting memories of The Gillygate; indeed it is an odd mixture of friendly, convenient and tatty. There is a car park behind the pub, just a few minutes' walk from York Minster, the City Walls and many good eating places. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, and our cases were instantly whisked to our room on the second floor. It was clean and comfortable with a small en-suite and plenty of wardrobe space. We were not disturbed by road noise, and breakfast next morning was very tasty and cheerily served.
That's the good news.
The pub itself is dingy and depressing beyond words; certainly not somewhere to linger. The climb from the back door took us over threadbare stair-carpets past walls and doors which had been strangers to the paintbrush for many years. While our room was in good order the outside windowsills were peeling down to the bare wood.
Perhaps the Gillygate has absentee owners, for it seems odd that such hospitable staff would not notice that the property which has so much going for it in many respects is in desperate need of a fundamental revamp.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Staff are helpful & friendly, however this does not camouflage the general overhaul which needs done to this very dated hotel/bar. If it wasn't for the location, this would be dead in water. Carpets changed, walls painted, walls knocked down, rooms re-designed the list is endless, but would reap dividends should this be done. There is also no food available which is very surprising & again a big loser for the proprietors. A very noisy place for sleep also but that comes with the territory.
Location is the main big plus being approx 300 mts from the minster & sadly that's all what this hotel/bar is about. Would be ok for a bag drop, eg stag, hen or lads weekend but avoid if possible.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitegold67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at the Gillygate for 4 nights out of the 5 we'd booked. Yes price great - breakfast good and comfy bed that's really all we can say. Needs major updating and rooms/en-suite incredibly small. Noise from the road outside sent us back to Scotland... Wouldn't recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel may need renovation but the girl who checked us in was as nice as can be. She even asked me if I needed help up the stairs with my luggage. My luggage is bigger than she is. I told her "No, thanks." She also cooked us a nice Irish breakfast when we got up. She couldn't have been nicer. Also, the location is great. The block itself is okay but it is just around the block from the York Minster. For the price of the room, it is an excellent value. There's no reason to spend three times the amount to spend the night somewhere else in York. You still see the same attractions anyway and the breakfast wouldn't be any better anyplace else. The bar downstairs is not the most welcoming, but there are plenty of places nearby to make up for it. The shops close early in this town so keep that it mind; even at the Shambles. Nevertheless, the hotel gives you exactly what you need; a place to stay at in York with a nice sized room , decent breakfast, and confortable bed, within walking distance of everything. It took only 15 minutes to walk to the train station. It's five minutes to the York Minster, at most. There is no lift, but in a hotel that resembles more like a B and B, that is typical anyway. Also, the stairs aren't steep. You need a code to get up to the rooms, so it's pretty safe. Once again, the young lady there (don't know her name) is a sweetheart and very accomodating. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Berkshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel on the way back from a wedding. This was excellent value,the young lady who checked us in was very pleasant and still was when she served us breakfast in the morning. The beds are really comfortable and the hotel is ideally located. This is my husband first time to York he now loves it.£50 B&B in the city centre amazing I will highly recommend the Gillygte.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Gillygate Guest House
Gillygate Guest House
#61 of 192 in York
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#31 of 192 in York
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#35 of 192 in York
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 192 in York
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#42 of 192 in York
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gillygate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gillygate

Property: The Gillygate
Address: 48 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gillygate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gillygate is a newly refurbished 'pub with rooms' just a stones throw from York city centre we are in the perfect position for you to explore this beautiful city. Our aim is simple, to make everyone's stay with us as memorable and hassle free as possible. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and downstairs in the pub you will find a great mix of locals and visitors enjoying themselves over a drink from our extensively stocked bar. We have twice weekly quizzes and visiting performers passing through from time to time. Guests can also enjoy an evening in our 'Whiskey Snug' and take advantage of our growing selection. If there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable just let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gillygate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gillygate Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing