We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful - free parking”
Review of The Gillygate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gillygate
Ranked #42 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful - free parking”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Ellie for a warm welcome (enjoyed my birthday egg). Staff are super friendly. Location is phenomenal. The decor is tired and we got a special 2 4 1offer which gave us value for money. Breakfast was varied and if you ask for a veggie breakfast ensure you request an egg/s. There is a fexible atmosphere around breakfast. Lovely City we will book again. The parking is great and our main reason for booking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ManagerJPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    110
    36
    25
    17
See reviews for
43
212
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

It's a shame it's so poor because the location is good. The furnishings are shabby and broken. The hot water ran out mid-shower and the bedding was not really adequate.
The room was large but it was tired and faintly unpleasant. Noise was a problem, with the place fairly raucous until well past midnight both nights we stayed. Breakfast was below average.
I don't want to put the boot in but you've got to do much better if you're asking for people's hard-earned cash.

Room Tip: If you really must stay, get a room as high as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My husband booked our room a couple of months in advance and became nervous about our stay when he read the reviews just before we went. However, we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful and always smiling. The bed was very comfortable and clean and we had heaters in the room so that we could adjust the temperature to what we were comfortable with. We were a little disappointed with the en suite's current condition but found out that the rooms will be refurbished early in the new year. The breakfast was nice and filling for the day ahead. It was a good price for this time of year with the bonus of free parking just around the corner from the Minster. We'd definitely go back and look forward to seeing the refurbished rooms.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The place is in need of a refurb which is what it is going to get next year(hopefully new double glazed windows) The new manager was friendly and helpful with us, allowing to park up early and go shopping which was a bonus for us.
As long as the bed sheets were clean, it had hot water, a toilet and a shower we were happy - it had all these things so we cannot complain especially for the price we paid on a Christmas fayre weekend in York.
We hope the renovation goes well so we can return next year for Xmas shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321KSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have been coming to the Gillygate for a few years now and we were so disappointed. The pub has changed hands recently and is planning on being renovated in March 2014. However, I do not think they should be renting out rooms in the condition they are currently in. Our bathroom had mould all over the wall and the shower head was disgusting and covered in black mould. There was no hot water so we had to have a cold wash because there was no way we would have used the shower! When we checked out I complained about the fact that the rooms are not habitable and we should not have to pay full price but I was met with the fact that the rooms will be renovated in March 14 and I still had to pay £75 for one night! Not happy at all with the attitude of the current manager. I wouldn't recommend you stay at the Gillygate if you value your health because I am quite sure that 'mould' is not good for your health!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The staff are very friendly,the food is excellent and the rooms are clean. It is in an excellent location. Yes, it does need a bit of tlc, the new owner has plans in place and they sound good. We are looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank november65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Free parking close to city centre-not many in York-great USP. Stairway to rooms is narrow passageway-threadbare carpet. Single-glaze windows drip condensation, ensuite unvented, shower cramped, poor state of decor. Dodgy boiler ergo dodgy heating. Large room in need of redecoration. Comfortable bed, clean bed linen. Excellent breakfast, pleasant couple running the place who are closing in January 2014 for a four-week refurbishment. We hope they make a good job of it- it would be worth it!

Room Tip: only 6 rooms at the moment, no3 does not have an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldFossils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Gillygate Guest House
Gillygate Guest House
#59 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#32 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#36 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gillygate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gillygate

Property: The Gillygate
Address: 48 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gillygate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gillygate is a newly refurbished 'pub with rooms' just a stones throw from York city centre we are in the perfect position for you to explore this beautiful city. Our aim is simple, to make everyone's stay with us as memorable and hassle free as possible. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and downstairs in the pub you will find a great mix of locals and visitors enjoying themselves over a drink from our extensively stocked bar. We have twice weekly quizzes and visiting performers passing through from time to time. Guests can also enjoy an evening in our 'Whiskey Snug' and take advantage of our growing selection. If there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable just let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gillygate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gillygate Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing