We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic York”
Review of The Gillygate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gillygate
Ranked #44 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My friend and I shared the twin attic room, with most stupendous views of the minster.

Gillygate house was lovely, with comfortable beds ... Though the sloping ceiling a challenge! Be careful. The stairs are steep too

We were made to feel welcome, and the landlord took our cases up and down for us which we appreciated. The breakfast was nice with good cafetiere coffee, and choice of 8 or 9 am sittings.

So much to do in York that 2 nights wasn't enough so we will come back and hope to stay here again

Room Tip: If tall avoid the attic room, but it is excellent for shorties. Welcome exercise climbing stairs aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

my wife and i , are just back from a 2 day break in york , we stayed at the gillygate pub ,the staff were very friendly and welcoming ,the pub is in an ideal location , close to the centre , the room itself was clean and tidy , with tea , coffee, and biscuits , the cooked breakfast was very good and a good choice of cereals and fruit juice , would recommend the gillygate quite highly and will be booking again in the near future

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Simple surroundings with locals at the bar. .. Nice. We had a good dinner of local gillygate steak pie and gravy with lovely veg sides. The landlord was chatty and helpful and we would go here again. We've were unfitness they have refurbished the hotel bedroom areas too. ... so we may consider staying here sometime

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nandm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Ellie for a warm welcome (enjoyed my birthday egg). Staff are super friendly. Location is phenomenal. The decor is tired and we got a special 2 4 1offer which gave us value for money. Breakfast was varied and if you ask for a veggie breakfast ensure you request an egg/s. There is a fexible atmosphere around breakfast. Lovely City we will book again. The parking is great and our main reason for booking.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ManagerJPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

It's a shame it's so poor because the location is good. The furnishings are shabby and broken. The hot water ran out mid-shower and the bedding was not really adequate.
The room was large but it was tired and faintly unpleasant. Noise was a problem, with the place fairly raucous until well past midnight both nights we stayed. Breakfast was below average.
I don't want to put the boot in but you've got to do much better if you're asking for people's hard-earned cash.

Room Tip: If you really must stay, get a room as high as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My husband booked our room a couple of months in advance and became nervous about our stay when he read the reviews just before we went. However, we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful and always smiling. The bed was very comfortable and clean and we had heaters in the room so that we could adjust the temperature to what we were comfortable with. We were a little disappointed with the en suite's current condition but found out that the rooms will be refurbished early in the new year. The breakfast was nice and filling for the day ahead. It was a good price for this time of year with the bonus of free parking just around the corner from the Minster. We'd definitely go back and look forward to seeing the refurbished rooms.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The place is in need of a refurb which is what it is going to get next year(hopefully new double glazed windows) The new manager was friendly and helpful with us, allowing to park up early and go shopping which was a bonus for us.
As long as the bed sheets were clean, it had hot water, a toilet and a shower we were happy - it had all these things so we cannot complain especially for the price we paid on a Christmas fayre weekend in York.
We hope the renovation goes well so we can return next year for Xmas shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 321KSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0 mi away
Gillygate Guest House
Gillygate Guest House
#61 of 194 in York
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#38 of 194 in York
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rose & Crown
Rose & Crown
#30 of 194 in York
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dovecote House
Dovecote House
#55 of 194 in York
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gillygate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gillygate

Address: 48 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £84 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gillygate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gillygate is a newly refurbished 'pub with rooms' just a stones throw from York city centre we are in the perfect position for you to explore this beautiful city. Our aim is simple, to make everyone's stay with us as memorable and hassle free as possible. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and downstairs in the pub you will find a great mix of locals and visitors enjoying themselves over a drink from our extensively stocked bar. We have twice weekly quizzes and visiting performers passing through from time to time. Guests can also enjoy an evening in our 'Whiskey Snug' and take advantage of our growing selection. If there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable just let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gillygate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gillygate Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing