We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a real gem of an apartment with the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Emperors Wharf

A smart riverside apartment, situated in the heart of York.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A smart riverside apartment, situated in the heart of York.
A perfect base for exploring the historic city of York with its many tourist attractions Bathroom with shower over bath.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
A smart riverside apartment, situated in the heart of York.
A perfect base for exploring the historic city of York with its many tourist attractions
Bathroom with shower over bath.
Fully equipped kitchen
Views from the terrace, across the city centre to York Minster and Cliffords Tower
Everything you need for a celebration, romantic break ....or to simply chill out
Fully equipped for self catering
Fully equipped for self catering
Comfy king size (5') bed with pocket sprung mattress
Quality cotton bed linen and towels
1st floor apartment, overlooking Skeldergate and hotel gardens
FREE parking in secure underground car park.
The communal terrace overlooks the River Ouse
Stroll the historic streets to find a huge variety of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants
Famous Shambles is just a 10 minute walk away
Enjoy the historic city sights nearby.
Clifford's Tower and the Castle Museum are just across the river
York's Christmas market
Everything you need for a great city break. ENJOY!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sandra H
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a real gem of an apartment with the guests comfort being a priority”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

13 emperors wharf is a fantastic place to stay with the guests every need taken care of .The lounge has two comfy sofas ,with a table for dining and tv and free wifi .It has lovely large windows which make it bright and airy. The whole apartment is beautifully decorated in a modern style with wooden flooring .The bedroom has lots of storage and comfy bed and luxurious bedding .The bathroom has bath as well as a shower and all tiled ,everything is done to a high spec .The kitchen is well equipped with oven ,hob ,washer/dryer ,microwave and tea ,coffee ,sugar provided ,maggie also asked us what bread ,milk wine we liked for our welcome pack .Everthing about this place is outstanding with all you need and more for a stay in York it is a short walk into town with lots to look at on the way .We think York is a very special place and so is this apartment book it you won't be disappointed ,and much better value than staying in a hotel .Maggie the owner is lovely ,on our day of leaving my husband took poorly ,she drove us to the hospital ,looked after our luggage ,came back for us a few hours later and drove to the train station ,all whilst getting the apartment ready for her next guest ,she is a very special lady ,without her kindness and help I'm not sure what we would have done .Thank you maggie we will be back soon .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing !
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's so nice to feel appreciated! Glad you enjoyed your stay at Emperors Wharf in beautiful York. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impossible to criticise.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a delightful property and a lovely host. This is a delightful apartment set in a convenient and pleasant location, with secure parking and everything you could need for a short break.

Pluses:
- Great host(ess) who provided milk, bread, some alcohol, treats and a very felxibile approach, plus kept in contact before to ensure everything was in order for us.
- An immaculate and well kept apartment.
- Perfect location for the city, also for cycling/running.
- Secure parking in an allocated space.
- A reasonable rate for what you get.

Suggestions:
There are minor and in the interest of balance...
- A few more utensils would be useful.
- Perhaps some of the furniture could be more comfortable (but I understand holiday lets dictate the need for functional and good value furniture).

I would recommend this property to any couples looking for a few days in York, and of course the city is a fantastic attraction in itself.

Thank you Maggie--we and/or members of our family may well return in the future.

Will and Emily.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, welcome.
Liked least: Furniture and road noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thanks for your review and constructive feedback. Delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny D
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant place to stay near the centre of York!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Maggie was so helpful even before we arrived - and this continued throughout our stay of over a week. The apartment is beautifully kept and in a superb location just a few minutes (almost level) walk from York's many attractions. The underground car park is a real help in a city where parking is difficult - and there's even a lift up to the first floor. There are food shops within a few minutes walk, a large choice of restaurants nearby, and pleasant circular walks out of town along the river and back over the Millennium Bridge.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandW...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A1 Accommodation”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just spent a most enjoyable three day break in this lovely apartment. We were met by the owner who showed us around the flat and explained everything to us as well as advising on local places of interest. Tasteful décor , spotless clean and extra touches supplied were the "icing on the cake" all making a most enjoyable stay.

Will definitely recommend to our friends and hope to return next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of flat and central position
Liked least: Really no dislikes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ida C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding - In All Respects!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our stay in York was enhanced by staying at this apartment. The entire experience was just outstanding, right from booking our stay until our departure. Met by the owner on our arrival who made us feel at home with all of her helpful advice for first time visitors to York. As regards tips and guidelines, all we can say is pleasantly surprised by the high quality level for this type of accommodation, whether you want to eat in or go out. We cannot fault it in any way. Owner, brilliant, location, brilliant, apartment, brilliant, Definitely going back there again.....and again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bk_mallic...
Lithia, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I want to say that Maggie is what really makes this place awesome. She goes out of her way to make your visit perfect. We have done many of these lettings, and she is like no other! The Flat is just what you see in the pictures, great location within walking distance of everything in York. There is a dedicated parking sport and Wi-Fi access which make it A+.

We look forward to coming back. I HIGHLY recommend this location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Property owner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Thanks you for your "awesome" review! Enjoy the rest of your holiday in UK. Come back soon!
Best wishes, M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanthaw...
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class accommodation in Center of York.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

When we arrived we were met with a very warm welcome by the owner who showed us around & talked us though everything. The accommodation was excellent with everything you need & more to make your stay enjoyable. The apartment was very clean and comfortable. It is very close to the city Center ( only a 5 - 10 minutes walk) were there is lots to do and see. Looking forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing