We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment, absolutely faultless”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Key pad closed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad closed
Opening keypad
Keys revealed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RGarbutt
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic apartment, absolutely faultless”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great stay in this recently renovated, spacious apartment. With a full-size kitchen and nearby supermarket it's nice to have the option of dining in after a busy day sightseeing in York. There are two brand new TVs, decent strength free wi-fi and a state-of-the-art bathroom. All the comforts of home and more! The separate bedroom at the rear of the property was very quiet and you won't find a more comfortable bed.
Gillygate is very central to all the attractions, restaurants and nightlife York has to offer. Everything, including the station is within walking distance. You really don't need a car to explore the city from here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Thanks for your enthusiastic response. We really tried to "get it right" and comments like yours, from great guests, make it all worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSB59
Manila, Philippines
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment with perfect host”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were smitten the minute we entered the apartment. It is tastefully designed and cozy, with all the amenities needed. The location is perfect. Just a few minutes walk from the center of attractions.

Lynne is a warm and gracious host. She makes sure her guests enjoy their stay in York. In fact, she welcomed us with a bottle of sparkling rose, bread, butter, milk, coffee and tea. What a thoughtful gesture! Then, in her apartment folder she gives detailed recommendations for places to visit and to eat. And she is spot on with her recommendations.

I will definitely be recommending York and Lynne's apartment to family and friends.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
It was a total pleasure to meet you and your family and I was delighted to be able to contribute a little to your holiday. Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay12...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location with caring landlords”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay in Gillygate on the edge of York. Good range of restaurants and the Cathedral within 2 minutes. With car parking we could also travel out of York and walk to the station to go by train on the Settle Carlyle route. Modern kitchen and bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to walk into York
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
As you were leaving you said "We had a lovely stay". What more could we ask? Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleympr...
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I cannot find fault in one thing at Gillygate. The location was unbelievably convenient. The apartment was immaculate. Lynne was amazing and such a pleasure. She went out of her way several times to make sure I was well taken care of and that I was enjoying my stay. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, I only hope I get to come again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stayed for 4 days as we were going to York races. The apartment was ideal. It is in an excellent location and there are plenty restaurants & pubs nearby. The apartment was immaculate and had everything you would require. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we would love to welcome you another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in the centre”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my partner in May 2014 and would wholeheartedly recommend Gillygate Central.

Location - Absolutely ideal for visiting York. You're a couple of minutes walk from York Minster (and the walk is lovely). The Shambles, Castle Museum, Jorvik Viking Centre, Clifford's Tower etc are all only 10-15 minutes away (and again, you'd want to walk it rather than use public transport as the streets are part of York's attraction). Restaurants and bars are plentiful in York, so you're never far away from a good food and drink.

Apartment itself - amazingly spacious and well equipped. You need not bring anything as Lynne has it covered. The bed (believe it's a super-king) is so incredibly comfortable, it was a struggle to get up each morning! The bathroom is ultra-modern and contemporary and although narrow, perfectly suitable for all (I'm 6ft and had no issues whatsoever). The TV/DVD, selection of DVD's and books are all nice touches too.

Lynne - worthy of a mention herself. Fantastic customer service and super-friendly, she really went the extra mile to make sure that my partner and I had an enjoyable stay. She even sang a note-perfect rendition of Happy Birthday!

I'd recommend Gillygate Central without hesitation and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thanks for your kind words. It was great that we could provide a special place for your partner's special birthday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peeps70
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing gem in the centre of York!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were so lucky to find this apartment when it has obviously just been done up. The place was spotless and all the equipment was brand new and high quality. Couldn't believe the size of the living room after some of the small places we have stayed in. The leather sofa was really comfy and the super-king bed was amazing. My favourite was the shower room which was like something from a magazine. And it had loads of space to store all our toiletries. We had breakfast in the apartment but it is very central and close to literally hundreds of restaurants and pubs so we ate out a lot - all prices from top end to take away. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Perfect!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are really glad you had a great time and would be welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing