We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
127 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 127 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Minicoope...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A belated review, but we really loved our stay at Gillygate. Gillygate is in a perfect spot , just a few steps and you are within the city walls of the beautiful York. The flat is gorgeous and VERY comfortable , with everything you could possibly need. Sainsbury is close by , so it is nice to grab a few items after a busy day and relax in the flat. A must is a walk thru the Snickleways of York.it was a lot of fun, just ask Lynn and she will explain! Definetely recommend to anyone going to York.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Better late than never! How nice of you to remember and put such a lovely review. Really glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john3737
Bishopton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We arrived at this apartment after a ten minute walk from station to the find the place even more beautiful than the pics online.the quality and finish are five star throughout.lovely comfortable lounge and a fully equipped spotless kitchen beautiful boutique style bathroom and the biggest bed on earth !with lovely crisp white bed linen .The location is perfect everything on your doorstep to enjoy this beautiful city.all the personal touches Lynne leaves for you on arrival make all the difference, we will most definitely be back
Thank you Lynne
Laura, john and family

Date of stay: May 2015
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
What a terrific review! Thank you so much. It is always great to have guests appreciate the place and be so enthusiastic. You would be very welcome on a return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely flat, clean, cheery and everything you will need. Very close to Center of City York. Bus stop and grocery store just at end of block. Very quick walk to most all attractions. Within easy walk to train station and central bus line. Landlady, "Lynne", is wonderful. Not in to your time or business but very accommodating and wants your stay to be happy. Mine was an amazing 3 weeks with zero issues. I had guests for 5 days, and we were all very comfortable. I highly recommend this location, I was sad to leave and plan to return. You can't go wrong staying at Gillygate!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and neatness
Liked least: No complaints perfect stay
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Thank you!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlcmom
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This apartment was perfect! Extremely clean and very cute and modern! The location was absolutely perfect. Close to everything! Lynne was extremely easy to communicate with via email from the very beginning. When we arrived she was there with a warm welcome and answered any questions we had. I absolutely loved this place, I would highly recommend it. The beds were so comfortable, the kitchen had everything we needed, the bathroom was clean and very modern and the warm electronic wall fireplace was a great touch. I miss this place already and I miss York!

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
Thank you for such a fabulous review! You were a wonderful guest and we really hope to see you again one day. Happy travelling!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickWard1...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a wonderful place tucked away almost out of sight when walking past. The apartment is very well presented with all the facilities you could need, its very clean and cosy and the location could not be better. Three minutes walk to the minster or so makes it ideal, and the inclusion of the garage facility makes coming by car easy. Lynne made sure that all details ( including how to get in on arrival) were sent and was kind enough when told on the last day of someones birthday to get a card and present. She is also very quick to respond to emails. a great apartment in a wonderful city

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the apartment and it's location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Thank you very much indeed for your kind and generous comments. To see you looking so happy to have had a great time in Gillygate Central and York was wonderful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrauOlsen
1 review
“Must be the best apartment in York.”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Best location, best service, best apartment. Best hosts and most kindly ever met.
If you'r visiting York stay at Gillygate Central.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Well, I am overwhelmed. Could possibly be the shortest review we have had - but quite wonderful! Thank you very much indeed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W
bradford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we'd been looking for.”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My partner,two sons and I,have just returned from a weekend away in York, and had a great time staying in this apartment.Unfortunately, Lynne couldn't be there to meet us, however, she left very clear,written instructions on how to enter the apartment and garage.
I mentioned to Lynne,we were coming to York to celebrate my partners 50th birthday and she very kindly left a small cake and a birthday card, as well as bread,butter,milk,tea,coffee,fruit and a bottle of Prosecco. A nice touch!
We had some concerns about the sofabeds not being suitable for our two sons,who are quite tall, but they were quite sturdy and not a problem.
The apartment is spotless and very modern and in a great location for the many shops,pubs and restaurants,and has a small garage at the rear of the property.Although the garage is quite small, we managed to get our Volvo S40 in.
We had a great time at Gillygate Central, and would definitely stay here again the next time we come to York.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large bed
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It's great to hear that guests want to come to our beautiful city for a special birthday or occasion. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.