We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbeatable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad and handle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nikkihorn...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I stayed at Gillygate central for a long weekend. On the first night we went to a lovely Italian, less than 5 minutes away. I suffer with chronic back pain, so location is everthing to me. It is only a 5 minute walk to the walls and Minster. The apartment was beautiful, and well equipped. Some people may be put off by it being underground, but not us. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for the review and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay. I have to say that I was surprised you think the apartment is 'underground'! It is actually lower ground with natural light/windows in all rooms but I quite like the idea of it being a cave! We would love to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie V
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation and location”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

It doesn't get any better than to stay in this lovely appartment. Extremely central and in easy walking distance to everything. I recommend it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wine and bread!!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
How lovely of you to say that! We never got to meet so it's always a lovely surprise to hear such positive comments written in a review when I have not known how the guests have liked the apartment. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O
1 review
“A very attractive apartment, clean and efficient, providing a delightful base in the centre of York.”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our hostess Lynne was most helpful and welcoming, generously providing the food wherewithal to get us started - especially the prosecco! We much enjoyed our stay and
found it easy to explore York from this vantage point even with a few mobility problems.
Every want suppled.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience
Liked least: Seating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed York and Gillygate Central.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthAuss...
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The phrase "leave the best til last" certainly sums up our four weeks of touring Ireland, Scotland and England. Gillygate Central was our last accommodation and it made everything else pale to insignificance. Nothing was forgotten. Everything was top class. The little touches - heated towel rail that actually worked, enormous towels, beautiful shower and space. We had plenty of space to spread out, even though we were only two. We could walk everywhere being so close to town and the garage to house our car was yet another plus. This accommodation scores fifteen out of ten.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. I always worry that when guests are at the end of an epic journey like yours, there's a chance they will just want to get home. Your enthusiasm and pleasure in both York and Gillygate Central is fantastic.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelSAE...
1 review
“Lovely apartment, awesome location!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Gillygate Central is a lovely clean and modern apartment. Its location is excellent - in easy walking distance of everything in central York. The owner Lynne was helpful and responsive. Our family of four (yes, we fitted) thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for the review. I was particularly pleased as I was not in York during your stay so did not get to meet you and check on the spot that everything was fine. Really glad you enjoyed the apartment and our lovely city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois D
Bowling Green, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC! Excellence plus!”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This trip was our 2nd within a two year time frame. During these two trips we have stayed in hostels, B & B, self-catering flats, hotels, and beach home rentals. Far and away Gillygate was THE best! We were there for almost a week. Lynne was so very helpful both in planning our trip as well as helping us on arrival and departure. The accommodation was inviting and beautiful. The living room was a welcome respite following our daily adventures out. The kitchen was more than adequate if you chose to cook in, we did not. Laundry facilities was a real plus! The towels were thick and large...I am a "bit oversized" :-) and the towels left room to spare. We especially loved the shower having come from a home rental that kept either turning the water ice cold or shutting off completely! The king size bed was SO very comfortable! It was a WONDERFUL end to a six week trip around England. The location was incredibly wonderful...including a lovely Italian restaurant almost across the street. We were within a block of York Minster and within walking distance of EVERYTHING! We would definitely return here should our travels take us to York again and would highly recommend it. We can only hope that future stays wherever our travels take us rival Gillygate!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the inviting appearance on entry. EVERYTHING!
Liked least: We were more than satisfied with it all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
You are our 50th reviewer I think and it certainly was a 'golden' review. I cannot thank you enough for your extremely kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you both - your trips across the UK are such adventurous journeys and I was so pleased to be part of this one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditi K
1 review
“Best and the most comfortable”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was the best place I have stayed in recent times. Having always booked hotels and b&bs this was the first time we opted for self catering as we have a 10 month old baby boy now.
After a tiring day out , our baby Had a 'at home' feeling when we returned back to apartment every evening.
It's even better than many hotels comes with parking , so central to York , you can see whole of York on foot.
Very clean, comfortable and attention to small details. The kitchen is well equipped if you want to cook or you've got plenty of eating out options just at doorstep.
Even if you are a newbie to Yorkshire , there are so many information leaflets in the apartment to help you decide on things to do, all in all 10 on 10 .
Definitely recommended.
The owners are very kind and helpful , rare thing to find these days.
Just one comment , please stay the same always!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for writing such a comprehensive and lovely review. It was a delight to meet you all - especially your gorgeous little boy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing