We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, comfortable flat, in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad and handle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Trail6743...
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable flat, in a great location”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The flat was really nice, it had really good distribution of space and all the beds were very comfy. We'll definitely stay there again :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Great that you mentioned ALL the beds. I know the super-king is extremely comfy and nice to hear that the chair beds were good for adults too. Thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, well worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Recently stayed here for a short break. Great apartment which was spotlessly clean and modern. Location is great, only 10 mins walk from the station. Lots of information in the apartment about things to do in York and places to eat. Thanks Lynne, we hope to be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
That's a really great review! Thank you. The housekeeper is very proud so will be delighted by your 'spotless' comment. We'd love to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locktech
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot - But not One to Scratch”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just back from York after 7 days staying in a fantastic apartment. Only 2 minutes from the city centre, ok 4 when wife using crutch, but she loved it as so handy for city centre. Apartment spotless and modern also handy garage although only takes smaller cars, but great for me garaged on Saturday and forgot about. Lynne nearby and popped in first day to check everything ok, will be back next year. Thanks Lynne for a fabulous stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
What a terrific review. Thank you. It's such a pleasure to know how much the apartment is loved and appreciated by our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Apartment Fantastic location like home from home”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Returned from Gillygate Central on 9th Sept .Booked on the net from recommends and we were not disappointed. What a Gem!! Everything picture perfect, location, spotless Apartment, high spec fittings and very comfortable and quiet, what more could you want for a relaxing break. Parking the Car in the Garage was an added bonus and the goodies wine, fruit, milk ,bread biscuits tea coffee etc very much appreciated and Lynne was an excellent host and everything "bob on" and would definitely return here again and have recommended the Apartment already to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
How kind! That is a terrific review, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
269MiaC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal location. Top quality apartment.”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from a wonderful eight day break in sunny York.
Gillygate is a great location with plenty of cafes and bars on the doorstep and an easy stroll to the centre.
The apartment is incredibly comfortable with many top quality touches. Lynne was very helpful and answered any of our queries straight away.
The use of a garage was a bonus and we were able to park our car without worry (it didn't turn a wheel for the whole week).
Would have no hesitation in booking a return visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. It was great to know that you had such a terrific time in York and Gillygate Central. We'd love to welcome you again on a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jfre70562
Happisburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent, modern and well appointed apartment”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I actually booked this for my parents, who are not users of the internet hence I am putting the review up based on their comments back to me - which were that this is a lovely apartment, modern features and lots of nice extra touches included.

The central location was also a real help, all in all this is definitely somewhere they would stay again, and I may well book it myself next time I go for a trip to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thanks for writing such a nice review. We'd love to see you (and of course your parents, again!).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinkle65...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, Fabulous apartment, lovely welcoming warm & friendly owner”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was my 1st holiday away with my 2 boys aged 12 & 13 and it was the best choice I could have made. The apartment was gorgeous, clean and modern with everything you could need and more. We enjoyed evenings spent in the apartment as much as we did out and about.
Lynne had left us everything we would need on arrival including a lovely bottle of wine. A folder included leaflets and information on places to visit and recommendations for eating.
I decided not to drive there but relax on a train and I am so glad as the apartment is central to everything, we could walk everywhere we wanted to go apart from Eden Camp but again Lynne was so thoughtful in leaving us a bus timetable telling us which bus and at which stop to get on.
I canot speak highly enough of both the apartment and Lynne and I guarentee I will be back. Thanks for making our time there special

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
It gives me great pleasure that for such a special first holiday you came to Gillygate Central and York. But more important - you enjoyed yourselves so much! It was lovely to meet you and I look forward to your return visit one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing