We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 19:30 - 20:40
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience The Ghost Hunt of York
from US$14.47
More Info
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveller rating
830
198
65
38
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
830
198
65
38
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great fun audience participation entertaining evening tour guide interesting stories value for money humour character shambles comedy unimportant chap
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2020

We decided to do this highly recommended ghost tour and one of the ‘must-do’ activities in york however words cannot describe how woefully bad this tour is. The tour guide fails miserably in having anything interesting to say and his attempts at being funny were painful. There was an awkward atmosphere in the large crowd that attended the event and we actually left half way through. The tour involved walking around random places where he stopped to tell stories that were no way interesting/scary/ funny. The £7.50 fee is daylight robbery. We read the negative reviews online but we were influenced by the positive reviews. Huge mistake... don’t go! Waste of time and money. Also local businesses/restaurants will persuade you to give it a go. Just don’t do it. Take it from 2 people who are easily entertained (and never write reviews) Don’t go!!!

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank Onel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

The guide is a real character! He told stories in an entertaining way and got the audience to participate. The walk takes you from the Shambles to the area around York Minster and then to the site of the old workhouse. His costume was atmospheric, and he remained in character. And, yes, he does carry around and stand in a step stool! It makes it so much easier to hear him than with many other tours I have done. Definitely worth the money and braving a cold, windy evening.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank kda423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020

This is just a bit of fun your taken around York mostly near the cathedral and told a lot of silly stories about horrible or tragic things that have supposedly happened in York’s past. It’s designed to just be a laugh so if your a true ghost hunter looking to see anything you will be disappointed. But I’m pretty sure you will know this already. Wear sensible shoes and if it’s a bit chilly definitely something warm as it gets quite chilly stood around especially near the cathedral it’s a bit of a wind tunnel down there. Cost £7:50 but it’s worth it you get your steps in and have a giggle doing it, also the walk last about 50mins. I wouldn’t advise this if mobility is not good as he walks fast.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank juliederbyshire506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

We were a bit dubious initially about going on this walk, but decided for £7.50 it was worth a punt. And we are so glad we did! Our guide was creepy, funny, entertaining and captivating (not in any particular order!) and gave us an entertaining hour around the streets of York. Audience participation heightened the laughs and there were some unexpected surprises along the way. Brilliant experience, would recommend to anyone. Big thanks and thumbs up

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank dawncH8629CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

Arrived outside the Golden Fleece for a “prompt 19.30 start” as stated on the website & waited until 19.40 but nobody showed up. Oh well, went with another tour elsewhere.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Benjymogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews