We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable and clean”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Robert820
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“comfortable and clean”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The apartment is cosy and a great base for staying in York. We have stayed in York on a number of occasions, and will return. Hopefully we can stay here next time. Also Bill and Dawn organize things very well. Thanks Robert & Jean

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable clean and ideal location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
"Thank you for that great review- if you or your friends ever want to visit again and we are full don't forget that we have an even bigger sister property Hendersons of York nearby (hendersonsofyork on social media), contact us directly for the best rates"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyF5
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation near York for a reasonable price”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

William and Dawn (we have never met in person) were excellent with communication from the moment we made our booking on Trip Advisor. They confirmed our booking and provided comprehensive information on the property and how to gain access. Before our arrival we received a text letting us know it was ready for us, with some useful instructions on how to use the heating system - very nice to know in late December. When we arrived we found a wonderfully and tastefully decorated apartment that uses the golden age of rail travel as a theme, with subtle Art Deco detailing here and there. This is very appropraite as the apartment is less than 3 minutes walk away from the National Railway museum. There was useful information to hand on York, local shops and places to eat. Also there was a Roku TV service and a nice DVD collection for TV viewing. A nicely kitted kitchen, with a pint of semi and full milk waiting and a chilled bottle of wine for us to enjoy. I usually take rented/self-catering flats when I holiday, and I must state that there was no scrimping on cleaning materials, tea, coffee and other basics. My only complaint, and this really is one of personal preference, is the bed was a bit soft, but other than that, what a great place to stay - very comfy, nicely decorated and everything in its place. The walk to York is about 10 minutes, but is a really nice walk along the river and a very nice way to enter the city of York. A really can find no fault with Templetons, and would have no hesitation in recommending them

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice decoration, Golden age of rail travel
Liked least: soft bed, slight smell of stale smoke in bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
"Thank you for that great review- if you or your friends ever want to visit again and we are full don't forget that we have an even bigger sister property Hendersons of York nearby (hendersonsofyork on social media), contact us directly for the best rates"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey F
Lancaster
1 review
“Perfect weekend retreat for four friends”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Four friends (who probably wouldn't object to being called middle aged ladies) looking for a relaxing weekend away found just that at this apartment. It was scrupulously clean, really well equipped and the attention to detail was lovely (wine, milk, biscuits etc). We had the zip-link beds unzipped, used the sofa bed and the owners also provided an extra aero bed. For a one bedroom apartment it was actually really spacious and accommodated four adults easily. It was a relatively short walk into town, partly along a fairly busy road and then along the beautiful river. And York was everything we hoped it would be and more. We managed to refrain from visiting the national railway museum (very close to the apartment) but I may well come back with the family to take them there (son and husband are keen). For the price I think you'd be hard pushed to find a better apartment in York.

Date of stay: December 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Thank you for visiting York and giving us such a fantastic review, we hope to have another (bigger) property available in York soon and would love to welcome you and your friends again to this iconic city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice apartment in a handy spot”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really nice week at this property. It's very easy to get to from the station and within an easy walk of the city centre. The beds (we had the king split into singles) were comfy, and the flat was everything we could have wished for. The wine, and tea/coffee/milk on arrival were greatly appreciated.
Communication with Bill and Dawn was great and the sheets telling us how to use the dishwasher/TV/heating and wifi were really useful.
Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty much faultless”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the third self catering property we've been to with our two small boys, and this one was by far the best. A quiet location within easy walking distance from the city centre and very handy for the station and National Railway Museum. Nice modern apartment with good quality furniture and decoration. If I was forced to grumble about something it would be that the only frying pan provided was on the small side, but that's really not a great hardship. The owner answered questions promptly and texted us on the arrival day to let us know that the apartment was ready early, so we didn't have to hang around with luggage.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsS20142...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights with our toddler and had a great stay - the apartment is lovely, very well finished and comfortable, and the extra touches such as bottle of wine, fresh coffee and free wi-fi were very gratefully received. The apartment is well located, and just a short walk from the city centre - very close to the National Train Museum, river and the museum gardens. We had our toddler son with us - plenty of space for a travel cot in the bedroom and high chair was provided. Would definitely recommend this apartment to couples or small families.

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment; perfect location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this apartment for myself, my partner and 2 friends for a four night break. Fantastic apartment, excellent condition, very clean and had everything we needed. Owner was fab when we asked about getting an extra parking permit and bedding for the sofa beds. Bed was sooo comfy and beautiful fluffy duvet. 10-15min walk to the city centre. Couldn't of asked for more. Would definitely use again and recommend to friends.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderfully comfortable bed and fluffy duvet.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.