We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in an idylic setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Cottage

Brook Cottage south facing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook Cottage south facing
Twin/queen size bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Brook Cottage south facing
Twin/queen size bedroom
Sitting room
Garden
Kitchen
Kitchen
Garden
Beautiful sunsets
Brook Cottage in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Terry M
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic cottage in an idylic setting”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautiful cottage set in a fantastic location.
Made very welcome by the owners Leslie, Marcus and their wonderfull black lab Poppy.
Accommodation was finished to an excellent standard with all modern conveniences.
The area was spectacular and the setting was straight off
a chocolate box.
Spent time in Easingwold, great place for a coffee or glass of wine.
Great base for exploring the Jewel that is North Yorkshire.
Would recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to visit and make the most of this area.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefull location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrinceofY...
York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully peaceful and comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed several days in this wonderful cottage in Yorkshire and can't wait to go back. It was beautifully prepared and very clean for our visit, complimentary tea and biscuits on arrival after a long drive. Peaceful location in a delightful little hamlet. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and were available without being in any way intrusive. Very comfortable beds and a bathroom for each bedroom, a wood burning stove and well equipped kitchen. Would highly recommend and we will be returning.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and peace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We really look forward to seeing you again - perfect guests - thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsFami...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I haven't a bad word to say about our break at Brook Cottage!
We received the warmest of welcomes by Lindsay, Marcus and the gorgeous Poppy (their super friendly Labrador)
The cottage itself is lovely. Competed to a high standard and well maintained. The beds were comfy, the shower was wonderful and the kitchen was better equipped than my own! They have thought of everything from cling film to reusable shopping bags, from dishwasher tablets to board games. On arrival there was biscuits and milk ready for a cuppa!
Dishwasher and washing machine both came in handy.
Log burning fire was a lovely touch in the evening.
The cottage is situated on a large patch of land over looking fields (full of sheep on our visit) and a resident owl to watch which was a real treat! The cottage had its own small garden with table and chairs but the owners very kindly said my daughter could roam their field. This is where my daughter spent every morning and evening playing with their very child friendly lab. Throw Poppy a stick and she's you friend for life. I can't thank them enough for letting my daughter kidnap their dog every day it truly made her holiday!
Right back to the cottage.... We chose Brook Cottage because it was situated between all the spots we hoped to visit. It was just a 25 min journey to York city. I recommend the castle museum if not sadly the castle itself. Also recommend the York Chocolate Story tour for kids or chocolate lovers of all ages.... Lots of treats and interaction along the tour.
We were an hours drive to the beautiful Aysgarth falls in the Dales, the fantastic Brimham rocks ( a must for kids, and big kids like me who enjoy climbing) and an hour from the Moors.
We also took a day out a little further to Malham to relive a childhood memory but also for my Harry Potter loving daughter to see the Deathly hallows back drop.
We would 100% recommend this cottage. Never have I felt so at home on holiday. Thank you to Marcus and lindsay and of course Poppy.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Cannot think of a single down side
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
We are thrilled you had such a great time . It was a pleasure to have you to stay .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabble22
uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bright, comfortable & welcoming”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent a long February weekend in Brook Cottage. It was an ideal location with lots to do and visit within easy reach, the cottage itself set in a small courtyard with views beyond over fields.

The cottage was really well presented, well furnished (comfortable beds!) and well equipped. A woodburner as well as central heating kept us warm, and wood was readily available at cost from the owners.

We are likely to return...

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurahC59...
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Peaceful weekend in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My friend and I stayed at Brook Cottage on a bit of a busman's holiday to work on a creative project and we couldn't have asked for a better setting. The cottage is in an out of the way, stunning country location just 30 minutes from York. Lindsay and Marcus were excellent hosts who did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable, and I can't forget Poppy the dog who is just adorable and friendly.

After a bit of a mix up with directions (entirely my fault) Lindsay welcomed us and showed us around. The wood-burning stove was all laid for us and when lit, this made the cottage very warm and cosy - can't beat a real fire! There was milk and biscuits for a cuppa when we arrived, and the kitchen has all you need to feel at home away from home. The nearest shop is about a 15 minute drive away, so I'd recommend getting stocked up when you go.

The building is beautifully converted and extremely clean and well maintained, with comfy beds and nice bright bedrooms. I slept in the en suite room which had a little door to a graveled patio area - I imagine this would be lovely in the summer. There's also a patio door in the living room which would be nice to enjoy in the sunshine.

I'd highly recommend Brook Cottage as a place to stay when visiting Yorkshire and I fully intend to stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Poppy the black lab! (and the wood-burning stove)
Liked least: Spider in the bathroom. Eek!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your warm comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeanoWP
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a week in November . Marcus and Lindsay were very welcoming when we arrived and came immediately to sort out a small problem with the hot water later in the day.

The layout of the cottage was well thought out, with the big living space centred on the wood burning stove. It was nice to have both a bath and shower available. Although there were only two of us, it would have been equally comfortable for four. Everything we needed was provided and there was a good selection of books, DVDs, magazines plus local maps and guides for planning our week.

It was an excellent location for access to the North York Moors as well as York - plenty to see and do within a reasonable drive. It would also be good for countryside walks straight from the door. Due to the time of year we didn't get to enjoy the garden, but it did look like it would be very inviting in the warmer months!

We'd definitely be happy to recommend.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture80...
redditch
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top quality cottage in tranquil setting”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in Brook Cottage. We were impressed with the friendly communication before arriving and the warm welcome. Marcus and Lindsay are very helpful if you need it but do not intrude in anyway. The cottage is very well equipped with quality furnishings. It would work well for two couples as the bedrooms are both lovely but well separated by the living accommodation, offering a good degree of privacy. Both bedrooms have their own quality bath/shower facilities as well. If you want you can befriend the owners happy dog and spend your days throwing sticks for her! Stearsby is a small group of dwellings at the end of a no-through road so very quiet and great for kids. There are footpaths leading in both directions allowing walks from the door. It is well placed for visiting York (Railway Museum) and Pickering (North York Moors Steam Train) as we did both with my train enthusiast Dad. Highly recommend Brook Cottage

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and our bed and the bedroom privacy, the dog and the horses down the road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.